Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
News : Recent Press Releases     Op-Ed     Publications     About the Legislative Press Bureau Printer Friendly View
11/15/2023 Media Advisory: Housing commission to meet tomorrow

STATE HOUSE – The Special Legislative Commission to Study Housing Affordability will meet tomorrow, Thursday, Nov. 16, at 1 p.m. in the House Lounge on the second floor of the State House.

Jennifer Hawkins, president of ONE Neighborhood Builders and a member of the commission, will give a presentation on financing affordable rental housing. The commission will then have a discussion following up on a presentation about building codes given at its last meeting by State Building Code Commissioner James P. Cambio of the Department of Business Regulation. Rhode Island Housing Secretary Stefan I. Pryor, who is also a commission member, is scheduled to provide a brief update to the commission. No public testimony will be taken at this meeting.

The meeting will be televised on Capitol Television, which can be seen on Cox channel 15 and 61 for high definition, on i3Broadband on channel 15 and on channel 34 by Verizon subscribers. It will be live streamed at

The commission, led by Rep. June S. Speakman (D-Dist. 68, Warren, Bristol), is studying barriers to affordable housing creation and identifying ways to help cities and towns meet their obligations under the Low and Moderate Income Housing Act to ensure that at least 10 percent of their housing stock qualifies as affordable.

Besides Chairwoman Speakman and Hawkins, the commission includes Rep. Joshua J. Giraldo (D-Dist. 56, Central Falls), House Minority Leader Michael W. Chippendale (R-Dist. 40, Foster, Glocester, Coventry), Housing Secretary Stefan Pryor, Rhode Island Foundation President and CEO David N. Cicilline, Grow Smart Rhode Island Executive Director Scott Wolf, Pawtucket Central Falls Development Corporation Executive Director Linda Weisinger,  Rhode Island Coalition to End Homelessness Chief Strategy Officer Jennifer Barrera, Rita Danielle Steele of Steele Realty Consultants,  Rhode Island Builders Vice President David Caldwell, Housing Network of Rhode Island/Community Housing Land Trust of Rhode Island Executive Director Melina Lodge,  Amy Rainone of Rhode Island Housing, Robert Marshall of the Rhode Island Developmental Disabilities Council, Lincoln Town Planner Joshua Berry, Providence Department of Planning Director Community Development Emily Freedman, Cranston Tax Assessor Kenneth Mallette, Central Falls Housing Authority Executive Director Bridgett Duquette, United Way of Rhode Island President Cortney M. Nicolato and HousingWorksRI Director Brenda Clement.

For more information, contact:
Meredyth R. Whitty, Publicist
State House Room 20
Providence, RI 02903
(401) 222-1923