Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
News : Recent Press Releases     Op-Ed     Publications     About the Legislative Press Bureau Printer Friendly View
11/6/2023 MEDIA ADVISORY: Commission to reduce recidivism of women in criminal justice system to hear testimony from Corrections Dept.
STATE HOUSE — The special joint legislative task force to improve the long-term outcomes and reduce recidivism among women in the criminal justice system will meet Wednesday, Nov. 8, at 2 p.m. in the House Lounge on the second floor of the State House.

The panel will hear testimony from Wayne T. Salisbury, director of the Department of Corrections, and Christine Imbriglio, transitional services and discharge planning supervisor for the department.

The 19-member commission is tasked with examining best practices to improve the long-term outcomes and reduce recidivism of women awaiting sentencing; ascertaining intervention and supportive pathways and services; calculating estimated costs for implementation of all programs; providing costs and local participation policies and requirements for potential housing sources; ascertaining sustainable funding avenues and legal pathways to implement policies and programs on the state and local level; and  differentiating the needs of those entering the criminal justice system and those transitioning back to the community following a period of incarceration.

The commission consists of Rep. Joseph J. Solomon Jr. (D-Dist. 22, Warwick), Sen. Meghan E. Kallman (D-Dist. 15, Pawtucket, Providence), Rep. Cherie L. Cruz (D-Dist. 58, Pawtucket), Rep. Brian J. Rea (R-Dist. 53, Smithfield, Glocester), Sen. Robert Britto (D-Dist. 18, East Providence, Pawtucket) and Sen. Anthony P. DeLuca II (R-Dist. 29, Warwick). Rounding out the panel are Kathy Kelly of the Rhode Island Judiciary, Dana Collins of the Department of Corrections, Lou Cerbo of the Department of Behavioral Healthcare, Developmental Disabilities & Hospitals, Michelle Alves of the Public Defenders Office, Allison Fonseca of the Attorney General’s Office, Laura Pisaturo of the Rhode Island Parole Board, Roberta Richmond, former warden of the women’s prison, Dina Bruce of Open Doors, Heather Gaydos of the Center for Health and Justice Transformation, Richard Ferruccio of the Brotherhood of Correctional Officers, Larome Myrick of the Department of Children, Youth and Families, and Tina Goncalves of the Pawtucket Police Department.

The meeting will be televised live by Capitol Television, which can be seen by Cox Communications subscribers on channels 15 and 61 for high definition, on channel 15 by i3Broadband viewers, and channel 34 for Verizon subscribers. Livestreaming will be available at

For more information, contact:
Daniel Trafford, Publicist
State House Room 20
Providence, RI 02903