Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
News : Recent Press Releases     Op-Ed     Publications     About the Legislative Press Bureau Printer Friendly View
9/16/2021 Sens. Cano, Acosta, Quezada and Mendes highlight the beginning of National Hispanic Heritage Month 2021
STATE HOUSE – Senators Sandra Cano, Jonathon Acosta, Ana B. Quezada and Cynthia Mendes are highlighting the beginning of the 2021 National Hispanic Heritage Month.  The celebration began on September 15 and ends on October 15.

“This is truly one of my favorite times of the year and it is always a joy to share the rich cultures and traditions that are celebrated during National Hispanic Heritage Month.  I encourage everyone to come out and enjoy the many events during this month-long celebration honoring the contributions Hispanics have made to our state,” said Senator Cano (D-Dist. 8, Pawtucket).

“With Rhode Island’s Latino population rising yearly, it is important that our state’s residents learn about and understand the cultures of their Latino friends and neighbors and this celebration that lasts an entire month is the perfect opportunity to do so,” said Senator Acosta (D-Dist. 16, Central Falls, Pawtucket).

“The food, the music, the community and most importantly, the love of our state’s Latino population will be on full display for a whole month and I am eager to share with the people of Rhode Island all that makes National Hispanic Heritage Month a true celebration,” said Senator Quezada (D-Dist. 2, Providence).

“Latinos have given, and continue to give, so much to the culture of our state and this month of recognition really highlights all that the various Latino cultures in Rhode Island have to offer.  We will highlight the good and also remember the difficulties we have all faced, but most importantly, we will celebrate what it means to be a Latino in Rhode Island,” said Senator Mendes (D-Dist. 18, East Providence, Pawtucket).

The inception of the Hispanic Heritage Month celebration stems from the anniversaries of independence for five Latin American countries: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. In September 1968, Congress authorized President Lyndon B. Johnson to proclaim National Hispanic Heritage Week. The observance was expanded in 1988 to a month-long celebration.

For more information, contact:
Andrew Caruolo, Publicist
State House Room 20
Providence, RI 02903