Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
News : Recent Press Releases     Op-Ed     Publications     About the Legislative Press Bureau Printer Friendly View
4/26/2019 Rep. O’Brien named chairman of Joint Lottery Committee
STATE HOUSE – Rep. William W. O’Brien (D-Dist. 54, North Providence) was unanimously elected as the chairman of the Permanent Joint Committee on State Lottery this week by his fellow committee members.

“I am honored that my colleagues on the committee had faith in my abilities to chair this important committee that provides oversight to one of our state’s largest revenue generators.  I am eager to begin the work leading the committee and one of my top priorities will be to work with all the stakeholders to ensure that mobile sports betting is up and running in time for the 2019 football season,” said Representative O’Brien.

The Joint Committee on State Lottery is responsible for legislative oversight of all lottery operations, which fall under the Department of Administration. The General Assembly created the committee following voter approval of the Separation of Powers constitutional amendment, which removed legislators from various boards and commissions.

At the same meeting, Senate Majority Whip Maryellen Goodwin (D-Dist. 1, Providence) was elected vice-chairwoman and Sen. Frank A. Ciccone (D-Dist. 7, Providence, North Providence) was elected secretary.

Other members of the committee include Sen. Elizabeth A. Crowley (D-Dist. 16, Central Falls, Pawtucket), House Minority Leader Blake A. Filippi (R-Dist. 36, New Shoreham, Charlestown, South Kingstown, Westerly), Rep. Michael A. Morin (D-Dist. 49, Woonsocket), Sen. Thomas J. Paolino (R-Dist. 17, Lincoln, North Providence, North Smithfield), and Rep. Scott A. Slater (D-Dist. 10, Providence).

Representative O’Brien, who was first elected in 2012, is also a House Deputy Majority Leader, Second Vice-Chairman of the House Environment and Natural Resources Committee, Second Vice-Chairman of the House Rules Committee, and a member of the House Finance Committee.

For more information, contact:
Andrew Caruolo, Publicist
State House Room 20
Providence, RI 02903