You may be trying to access this site from a secured browser on the server. Please enable scripts and reload this page.
Turn on more accessible mode
Turn off more accessible mode
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Turn off Animations
Turn on Animations
State of Rhode Island General Assembly
Weekly Roundups PDF Library
Recent Press Releases
About the Legislative Press Bureau
Printer Friendly View
General Assembly OKs Solomon, McCaffrey bill that prohibits keeping dogs outside in extreme temperatures
STATE HOUSE — The General Assembly has passed legislation introduced by Rep. Joseph J. Solomon Jr. (D-Dist. 22, Warwick) and Senate Majority Leader Michael J. McCaffrey (D-Dist. 29, Warwick) that would regulate the treatment of dogs kept outside in extreme temperatures. The measure now moves to the governor’s office.
The bill (
) would make it a violation to keep any dog outside when the ambient temperature is beyond the industry standard for the weather safety scale as set forth in the most recent adopted version of the Tufts Animal Care and Condition Weather Safety Scale if the dog is showing signs of poor health due to the weather conditions.
“It is important,” said Representative Solomon, “not only to help protect defenseless dogs, but to make certain that those who mistreat them face serious consequences.”
The Tufts Safety Scale, developed at Tufts University, was designed to help animal control officers, cruelty investigators, veterinarians, and others more accurately determine the condition of a potentially neglected dog.
The bill would amend an existing law that sets the minimum length of a tether and prohibits the use of a choke collar or prong collar, and makes it a violation to keep a dog tethered for more than 10 hours in a 24-hour period.
“I’m proud of the advancements Rhode Island has made in the protection of animals,” said Senator McCaffrey. “This legislation is just the latest in a series of animal protection laws enacted by the General Assembly over the last few years. The Animal Legal Defense Fund has ranked Rhode Island the 5
best state in the nation in its 2016 U.S. Animal Protection.”
Individuals violating the provision would be given a warning for a first violation. Second or subsequent violations would carry a fine of between $50 and $500 and imprisonment for up to 11 months.
For more information, contact:
State House Room 20
Providence, RI 02903
Lt. Governor's Office
Secretary of State
Link to Public Records Request