Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
News : Recent Press Releases     Op-Ed     Publications     About the Legislative Press Bureau Printer Friendly View
2/27/2023 Rep. Diaz to host celebration of 179 years of Dominican Republic independence, heritage
STATE HOUSE — In conjunction with the Dominican Independence and Heritage Award Committee of Rhode Island, Rep. Grace Diaz (D-Dist. 11, Providence) and former state Sen. Juan M. Pichardo are inviting the public to attend the Dominican Republic Independence Anniversary and Heritage Celebration tomorrow, Feb. 28, at 6 p.m. at the Rhode Island State House in the Governor’s State Room on the second floor.

The celebration will commemorate the anniversary of the Dominican Republic’s independence on Feb. 27, 1844.

“The celebration of this important historic moment is the perfect time to reflect on the impact Dominican culture continues to have on Rhode Island,” said Representative Diaz. “We have seen how the experience and customs of Dominicans have helped shape the state both culturally and politically. On this day every year, I am proudest when we introduce so many skilled and talented Dominican-Americans from all walks of life to celebrate their achievements.”

Hugo Adames and Michael Nina will serve as masters of ceremonies. Dayana Read, a violinist will play the Star-Spangled Banner, while Angel Gautreaux, Musician – Trumpet, will the national anthem of the Dominican Republic. Tammy Vargas Warner Phd., a higher education leader, executive coach, master facilitator, strategic consultant, speaker and author, will serve as the event’s keynote speaker.

This year’s ceremony will recognize outstanding individuals who represent the best of the Dominican-American community’s efforts to make Rhode Island a better place for the last 18 years, including Thomas A Verdi, deputy chief of the Providence Police Department, for outstanding service and contribution to the Dominican community; Nizelky C. Genao, vice president of strategic planning, innovation and integration for Beth Israel Lahey Health Behavioral Services, for outstanding professional in science; Angélica M. Infante-Green, commissioner of elementary and secondary education, for outstanding Dominican leadership in education; Ana M. Granville for outstanding community leadership service; Octavio José Gómez for outstanding Dominican youth talent; René Gómez for outstanding contribution to Dominican art; Hugo R Adames for outstanding Dominican business leadership; Lt. Diana Perez, of the North Providence Police Department, for outstanding Dominican public servant; Jeremy Peña, for outstanding contribution to the Dominican sports; Carmen Castillo, member of the Providence City Council, for service and dedication to the community; and the late Rev. Raymond Tetrault, who will be honored posthumously.

Representative Diaz and former Senator Juan M. Pichardo are the founders of the Dominican Independence Award Committee and annual celebration, which has shed light on the many contributions of Dominican-Americans in Rhode Island for the last 19 years.

For more information, contact:
Daniel Trafford, Publicist
State House Room 20
Providence, RI 02903