Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
News : Recent Press Releases     Op-Ed     Publications     About the Legislative Press Bureau Printer Friendly View
4/2/2015 House, Senate make appointments to Commission on Women
STATE HOUSE – Six state legislators are among those who will serve on the Rhode Island Commission on Women, a panel that Gov. Gina M. Raimondo announced recently she is reviving with new appointments and a focus on pay equity.
In addition to 12 appointments made by the governor and the six from the General Assembly, there will be eight more individuals named from state agencies.
The commission was established in 1970 to advise state leaders on issues impacting on women, but the panel has not been active since losing funding in 2010.
The three members of the House of Representatives appointed to the commission by Speaker of the House Nicholas A. Mattiello are:
Rep. Doreen Marie Costa (R-Dist. 31, North Kingstown, East Greenwich). Currently serving her third term in the House of Representatives, she is Vice Chair of the House Committee on Judiciary and a member of the House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs, the House Commission to Study Public Higher Education Affordability and the Joint Defense Economy Planning Commission.
Rep. Joy Hearn (D-Dist. 66, Barrington, East Providence). Now in her fourth term, Representative Hearn serves on the House Committee on Finance and two of its subcommittees: environment/transportation and education, and also on the House Committee on Municipal Government.
Rep. Mary Duffy Messier (D-Dist. 62, Pawtucket). First elected to the House in 2009, Representative Messier is the secretary of the House Committee on Corporations and secretary of the House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs.
Senate appointments announced by President of the Senate M. Teresa Paiva Weed are:
Sen. Hanna M. Gallo (D-Dist. 27, Cranston, West Warwick). Senator Gallo, currently serving her ninth term in the Senate, is the Chair of the Senate Committee on Education and a member of the Senate Committee on Commerce.
Sen. Gayle L. Goldin (D-Dist. 3, Providence). Serving her second term in the Senate, she is the secretary of the Senate Committee on Environment & Agriculture and a member of the Senate Committee on Health & Human Services.
Sen. Elaine J. Morgan (R-Dist. 34, Charlestown, Exeter, Hopkinton, Richmond, West Greenwich). The first-term Senator is a member of the Senate Committee on Commerce, the Senate Committee on Education and the Senate Committee on Special Legislation and Veterans’ Affairs.
The Rhode Island Commission on Women is a 26-member commission supported by a director and a corps of volunteers, with a mission of advancing women toward full equity and promoting rights and opportunities for all women across all arenas, such as education, health, economic development, employment, legal rights and political participation.
The commission was established to advise and submit recommendations to the governor and the General Assembly, to develop support groups and services for women, collaborate with other organizations on issues of common concern and encourage women to vote and run for office.

For more information, contact:
Randall T. Szyba, Publicist
State House Room 20
Providence, RI 02903
(401) 222-2457