Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
News : Recent Press Releases     Op-Ed     Publications     About the Legislative Press Bureau Printer Friendly View
7/3/2024 Constitutional Convention Commission appointments made
STATE HOUSE – Appointments have been made to the bipartisan preparatory commission required under the state constitution in advance of November’s ballot question asking voters whether they wish to hold a constitutional convention.
The 12-member commission is to hold public hearings in the coming weeks to foster public discussion about potential issues that might be addressed if the state were to hold such a convention.
The General Assembly last month approved legislation (2024-H 8326, 2024-S 3136) to put the question on the ballot asking voters whether they wish to hold a convention to discuss and propose potential updates to the state constitution, and legislation (2024-H 8324, 2024-S 3147) to appoint the commission. Both bills were sponsored by House Judiciary Committee Chairman Robert E. Craven (D-Dist. 32, North Kingstown) and Senate Judiciary Committee Chairwoman Dawn Euer (D-Dist. 13, Newport, Jamestown).
The commission – which is a separate body from the constitutional convention itself, and is to be disbanded after its report is issued – is made up of four representatives, four senators and four members of the public. Its report about potential issues a constitutional convention could address is to be included in the voter handbook that is mailed to all registered voters before the election.  The report date required in the legislation is September 1.    
House Speaker K. Joseph Shekarchi (D-Dist. 23, Warwick) has appointed Chairman Craven, who will serve as co-chair, Deputy Speaker Raymond A. Hull (D-Dist. 6, Providence, North Providence), Rep. Arthur J. Corvese (D-Dist. 55, North Providence), and former representative Deborah Ruggiero, who served on the last constitutional convention commission ten years ago, as the member of the public.
House Minority Leader Michael W. Chippendale (R-Dist. 40, Foster, Glocester, Coventry) has appointed House Minority Whip David J. Place (R-Dist. 47, Burrillville, Glocester) and former representative Daniel Reilly as the member from the public.
Senate President Dominick J. Ruggerio (D-Dist. 4, North Providence, Providence) has appointed Chairwoman Euer, who will serve as co-chair, Sen. Robert Britto (D-Dist. 18, East Providence, Pawtucket) and Sen. Matthew L. LaMountain (D-Dist. 31, Warwick, Cranston) and Stephen Iannazzi as the public member.
Senate Minority Leader Jessica de la Cruz (R-Dist. 23, North Smithfield, Burrillville, Glocester) appointed herself to the commission and Joseph Larisa, Jr. as the public member.
The commission’s first meeting is tentatively scheduled for Wednesday, July 24, at the State House.

For more information, contact:
Andrew Caruolo, Publicist
State House Room 20
Providence, RI 02903