Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
District 37
New Shoreham, South Kingstown
(401) 222-4200

Senator V. Susan Sosnowski


Chairwoman, Senate Committee on Commerce

Member, Senate Committee on Finance 

Member, Senate Committee on Labor


Senator V. Susan Sosnowski (D-Dist. 37, New Shoreham, South Kingstown) was born on December 20, 1955. She is married to Michael Sosnowski and has four children, Ronald, Deborah, Stephen, Michael, Jr.

Senator Sosnowski graduated from Chariho Regional High School and attended the Ocean State Business Institute. She is a self employed farmer at Sosnowski Farms.

In addition, Senator Sosnowski is a member of the Northeast Organic Farming Association; the Richmond Grange; the South Kingstown Farmer’s Market Association; the Rhode Island Farm Bureau; and the South Kingstown Elks #1899. She also serves on the Clean Water Finance Agency and the Coastal Resources Management Council; the South Kingstown Democratic Town Committee; and since 1995 has served on the Agricultural Advisory Committee to the Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management (DEM). She was moderator for Richmond Voting District 1 in 1984; a member of the South Kingstown Planning Board from 1993-1996; and served on the Governor’s Advisory Council on the Environment in 1997.

First elected to the Rhode Island Senate on November 5, 1996, Senator Sosnowski can be reached at (401) 222-4200.