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On behalf of the American Tort Reform Association (ATRA), thank you for the 
opportunity to testify today regarding S.B. 739, which would retroactively eliminate a 
statute of limitations and revive time-barred lawsuits against schools, nonprofit 
organizations, youth groups, sports leagues, daycare centers, and others alleging that 
they did not do enough to protect children from sexual abuse decades ago. 

I am a partner in a national law firm, Shook, Hardy & Bacon L.L.P. and serve as counsel 
to ATRA, a broad-based coalition of businesses, municipalities, associations, and 
professional firms that promote fairness, balance, and predictability in civil litigation. 

Sexual abuse of a child is abhorrent. Those who commit such acts should be prosecuted 
and survivors of abuse should have a reasonable time to file a lawsuit against those who 
are responsible. We respect the advocacy of the sponsors as well as the courage of 
survivors who may come forward to support it. ATRA commends the Committee for 
considering steps to help survivors of abuse. 

As we have testified on similar proposals, ATRA is concerned with the approach taken 
by this bill and the troubling precedent it would set by abandoning a core element of the 
civil justice system – a finite statute of limitations – which allows judges and juries to 
evaluate liability when evidence is available. The retroactive application of this proposal 
is especially troubling. When the legislature prospectively (going forward) extends or 
even eliminates a statute of limitations, organizations are put on notice. They can, going 
forward, keep meticulous records of the safeguards they put in place to protect children, 
carefully document any concerns raised and how they responded, document their 
employment decisions, and save those records forever. In the age of electronic data 
storage, that can be done. 

But when the legislature retroactively revives time-barred claims it means that 
organizations will not have saved paper records from that era, indicating how they 
screened or trained employees, received reports, or investigated concerns. These 
records will have been discarded long ago under standard document retention policies. 
It also means that organizations will not have witnesses available. A supervisor who was 
40 years old in 1980, and might recall whether there was any reason to suspect 
someone was a perpetrator or what safeguards the organization had in place at the 
time, would be 85 years old today. In claims going back further, both the perpetrator 
and any staff may no longer be alive.  

An organization cannot go back in time to keep records, purchase more insurance, or 
even decide not to operate in an area knowing that it could be sued in, say, 2030 for 
what previous employees may have failed to do in the 1960s, 1970, or 1980s. This is not 
how the civil justice system is supposed to operate – for any type of civil action.  
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These due process concerns underlie Rhode Island precedent clearly indicating that 
reviving time-barred claims is unconstitutional. After the legislature extended the 
statute of limitations for childhood sexual abuse claims against perpetrators in 1993, 
the Rhode Island Supreme Court ruled in Kelly v. Marcantonio that: 

Although it is permissible for the General Assembly to enlarge an already 
existing action limitation period that would be applicable to causes of 
action thereunder not already time-barred without offending any vested 
substantive right of the parties, the amendment to art. I, sec. 2, precludes 
legislation with retroactive features, permitting revival of an already time-
barred action that would impinge upon a defendant’s vested and 
substantive rights and would offend a defendant’s art. 1, sec. 2, due process 
protections. 1   

The Court concluded that “our State Constitution bars the retroactive application of 
[the statute of limitations for childhood sexual abuse] to claims already time-barred by 
the statute of limitations in effect prior to the effective date” of legislation adopting a 
lengthier period.2  

In taking this approach, the Rhode Island Supreme Court recognized that it followed 
the “great preponderance” of state appellate courts.3 That remains true today. In fact, in 
the past five years alone, four states have struck down similar legislation attempting to 
revive time-barred childhood sexual abuse claims, including Maine,4 Colorado,5 
Kentucky,6 and Utah.7 As the Maine Supreme Court observed in its January 2025 
decision, reviving time-barred claims “contravenes centuries of our precedent.” While it 
may be tempting to disregard constitutional safeguards in this context, as the Colorado 
Supreme Court unanimously ruled, “there is ‘no public policy exception’ to the ban on 
retrospective laws.” I have attached a separate paper addressing the constitutional issue 
in greater depth. 

While other states have passed reviver legislation, and some state courts have upheld 
these laws, the Committee should be aware that S.B. 739’s complete elimination of the 
statute of limitations and proposal to indefinitely revive time-barred claims is extreme. 

                                                 

1 Kelly v. Marcantonio, 678 A.2d 873, 883 (R.I. 1996). 
2 Id. at 884. In Houllahan v. Gelineau, 296 A.3d 710 (R.I. 2023), the Rhode Island Supreme Court reaffirmed the legislature’s 
intent, under the 2019 law, to revive claims only against perpetrators. Since the Court dismissed the action on those grounds, it 
had no need to again rule on the constitutionality of reviving time-barred claims. 
3 Kelly, 678 A.2d at 884. 
4 Dupuis v. Roman Catholic Bishop of Portland, No. BCD-23-122, 2025 ME 6 (Me. Jan. 28, 2025). 
5 Aurora Pub. Schs. v. A.S., 531 P.3d 1036, 1048-49 (Colo. 2023). 
6 Thompson v. Killary, 683 S.W.3d 641, 648 (Ky. 2024) (“[O]ur jurisprudence presents nearly 200 years of protection for 
those possessing a statute of limitations defense.”). 
7 Mitchell v. Roberts, 469 P.3d 901, 903, 913 (Utah 2020) (unanimously holding the principle that the legislature violates due 
process by retroactively reviving a time-barred claim is “well-rooted in our precedent,” “confirmed by the extensive historical 
material,” and has been repeatedly reaffirmed for “over a century”). 
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For example, Massachusetts, Georgia, and Michigan,8 like Rhode Island, limited 
revivers to claims against the perpetrator of the abuse, recognizing the problems with 
evaluating negligence after decades have passed. Arizona, Oregon, Utah (invalidated), 
and West Virginia revived claims only against organizations alleged to have engaged in 
criminal conduct or that knew of the abuse but failed to act. And many of the states that 
enacted reviver laws extended the statute of limitations, rather than eliminate it, and 
applied the new period retroactively. They did not revive claims going back indefinitely, 
as this bill proposes. 

Given the loss of records and witnesses, and nature of these revived lawsuits, 
organizations will have no choice but to settle the cases, even if they had no knowledge 
of the abuse and were responsible in how they operated. The impact on public entities, 
nonprofit organizations, and businesses will be extraordinary and may jeopardize 
programs and services they provide today. Consider, for example, the recent experience 
of other states that have taken approaches similar to that proposed by S.B. 739. 

Maryland’s reviver of time-barred claims created a $3.5 billion liability hole for the 
state alone, which was projected to rise as high as $34 billion over time, not including 
litigation costs.9 That is because at the time the Maryland Department of Legislative 
Services conducted its analysis in early March 2025, about 4,000 revived claims have 
already been filed against the state. Two months later, that figure reportedly rose to 
6,000 lawsuits and is expected to continue to surge.10 These claims date as far back as 
the 1960s.11 This huge sum does not account for the unanticipated liability facing 
nonprofit organizations and businesses throughout the state. Even the sponsor of 
Maryland’s Child Victims Act, himself an abuse survivor, was taken aback by the 
number of lawsuits filed and the amount they sought, blaming attorneys “that want to 
capitalize on Maryland’s pain.”12 In response, this session, he supported legislation 
amending Maryland’s 2023 reviver law to avoid “bankrupting the state” by cutting 
damage caps applicable to revived claims by more than half effective June 1, 2025.13 
That law also clarified that the damage caps apply per claim, rather than per incident.14  

Another recent example comes from Los Angeles County, which announced that it is 
settling 6,800 revived claims, dating back t0 1959, for $4 billion stemming from its 
juvenile facilities and foster care system. The settlement, which resulted from 3-year 

                                                 

8 The Michigan law was tailored to revive only claims of victims of a convicted criminal, Dr. Larry Nasser. Mich. Public Act 183 
(S.B. 872) (2018). 
9 Fiscal and Policy Note, Third Reader – Revised, H.B. 1378 (Md. 2025).  
10 Luke Parker, Victims Decry Lower Caps on Abuse Claims, Baltimore Sun, Apr. 28, 2025. 
11 Ashley Paul, Maryland Bill Aims to Limit Settlement Money for Victims of Abuse in Juvenile Detention Centers, CBS News, 
Apr. 6, 2025. 
12 Parker, supra (quoting Del. C.T. Wilson). 
13 For revived claims against public entities, Maryland reduced its maximum payment from $890,000 to $400,000. For 
private entities, Maryland reduced a limit on noneconomic damages from $1,500,000 to $700,000. See Ian Round, Facing 
Budget Deficit and Thousands of Sex Abuse Claims, Lawmakers Consider Bill to Limit Liability, Maryland Matters, Mar. 27, 
2025; Madeleine O’Neill, Maryland’s Child Victims Act Could See Changes as State Faces Billion-dollar Liability, Baltimore 
Banner, Mar. 3, 2025. 
14 H.B. 1378 (Md. 2025). 
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California reviver window that opened in 2020, is expected to impact the county, its 
taxpayers, and its services for decades.15 

The Committee should also keep in mind that the number of lawsuits following these 
reviver laws often exceeds predictions. That happened in Maryland, as noted. It also 
occurred in New York, where proponents of that state’s 2019 reviver law predicted 
2,000 to 3,000 lawsuits would be filed.16 In just two years, lawyers filed nearly 11,000 
revived claims against a wide range of individuals and organizations.17 New York is only 
now beginning to attempt to calculate the “multiple billions” that state and local 
governments will eventually pay to settle revived lawsuits and figure out how those 
costs will be covered and impact the state.18 Nonprofit agencies that provide services to 
hundreds of thousands of families statewide are reportedly in danger of collapse.19 In 
response, legislators have introduced legislation to establish a $200 million fund, 
financed by taxpayer dollars, to bail out public school districts and voluntary foster care 
agencies that face crippling liability from revived claims.20 As the bill analysis notes, 
“due to the age of some filed claims, there are many cases in New York where no 
insurance coverage can be discovered.” The fund is needed, the bill justification says, 
“to allow public school districts and voluntary foster care agencies who would otherwise 
be forced to close or severely cut services.”21 

Finally, as we have expressed in previous sessions, ATRA is concerned with the 
precedent this bill sets for other types of civil claims. Tort law, by its very nature, deals 
with horrible situations – accidents resulting in serious injuries that have a dramatic 
impact on a person’s life, negligence in the workplace or a defective product that leads 
to a person’s death, and diseases contracted through exposure to toxic substances, for 
example. Yet, every type of civil claim, no matter how tragic the injury or offensive the 
alleged conduct, must be brought within a certain period to protect the ability of courts 
to decide claims when evidence is available. It is never easy for a lawyer to tell a client 
that the time to sue has passed. If Rhode Island revives time-barred claims here, others 
will understandably seek similar treatment. That is not a sound path, for the reasons 
discussed.  

Thank you for the opportunity to testify today and considering ATRA’s concerns as you 
address this difficult and important issue.

                                                 

15 See Vivian Ho, Los Angeles County Plans Historic $4 Billion Payout for Sex Abuse Claims, Wash. Post, Apr. 5, 2025. 
16 Gloria Gonzales, Insurers Try to Measure Exposure to Childhood Sex Abuse Claims, Bus. Ins., Aug. 20, 2019 (quoting Marci 
Hamilton, founder and CEO of Child USA). 
17 Jay Tokasz, Nearly 11000 Child Victims Act Lawsuits Filed in New York State, Buffalo News, Sept. 26, 2021 (citing Office of 
Court Administration statistics). 
18 Ryan Whalen, N.Y. Comptroller: Audit of Child Victims Act Governmental Liability Isn’t Feasible, Spectrum News 1, Apr. 
17, 2025. 
19 Susanti Sarkar, As Survivors Seek Justice, New York Child Welfare Agencies Face the Costs of Decades-Old Sexual Abuse 
Lawsuits, The Imprint, Feb. 19, 2024. 
20 S. 3149 / A. 1891 (N.Y. 2025). 
21 Id. 



The Rhode Island Supreme Court Ruled in Kelly v. Marcantonio  
that the General Assembly Cannot Constitutionally Revive  

Civil Lawsuits After the Time to File Them Has Ended 

Background. Prior to 1992, Rhode Island’s three-year statute of limitations for personal 
injury claims applied to lawsuits alleging injuries from childhood sexual abuse. That year, 
Rhode Island established a special cause of action for childhood sexual abuse claims, § 9-1-
51.1 For those claims, the General Assembly initially provided three years to file a lawsuit 
from when a victim discovered or reasonably should have discovered the injury caused by 
the abuse. The following year, the legislature extended this three-year period to seven 
years.2 In Kelly v. Marcantonio, 678 A.2d 873 (R.I. 1996), the Rhode Island Supreme Court 
considered this question:  

“Whether . . . it is constitutionally permissible for our General Assembly to 
revive a previously time-barred cause of action by application of § 9-1-51 to 
that cause of action.”3  

The Court answered, no: 

 “[O]ur State Constitution bars the retroactive application of § 9-1-51 to claims 
already time-barred by a statute of limitations in effect prior to the effective 
date of § 9-1-51.”4  

This paper explains the Kelly decision and key developments since that time. 

The Rhode Island Supreme Court ruled in Kelly that the General Assembly 
cannot revive time-barred claims. Pointing to the Rhode Island Constitution’s due 
process clause, the Court explained: 

Although it is permissible for the General Assembly to enlarge an already existing 
action limitation period that would be applicable to causes of action thereunder not 
already time-barred without offending any vested substantive right of the parties, 
the amendment to art. I, sec. 2, precludes legislation with retroactive features, 
permitting revival of an already time-barred action that would impinge upon a 
defendant’s vested and substantive rights and would offend a defendant’s art. 1, sec. 
2, due process protections.5 

The Rhode Island Supreme Court acknowledged that the “general federal rule” is that 
reviving a time-barred civil action is permissible. It noted, however, that state appellate 
courts “are free to interpret and to construe their own state constitutional due process and 
equal protection provisions” to provide greater protections than offered by the U.S. 
Constitution.6 The Court concluded that “our State Constitution bars the retroactive 
application of [the extended statute of limitations] to claims already time-barred by a 
statute of limitations in effect prior to the effective date of [that extension].” This 
conclusion was consistent with prior rulings on statutes of limitations for other claims.7 

The Court observed that this interpretation of the due process clause protects both 
plaintiffs and defendants from unfair, retroactive amendments to statutes of limitations.8 
Just as protection of vested rights prohibits the legislature from extending a statute of 
limitation in a manner that revives an expired claim, it also prohibits the legislature from 
retroactively shortening the period, cutting off a plaintiff’s ability to bring an accrued claim 
or leaving an unreasonable and inadequate time to do so.9  
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Since Kelly, there have been five significant developments. 

1. The Rhode Island Supreme Court has reaffirmed that the legislature may 
not revive time-barred claims. In a 2003 decision, the Court observed: “Kelly held 
that it would be permissible for the General Assembly to enlarge a limitation period and 
apply the amendment retroactively to pending cases that were not yet time-barred, but 
that due process, under the amended constitutional provision, precluded legislation that 
retroactively revived a time-barred action. Thus, we concluded, such legislation would 
violate a defendant's vested and substantive rights to defend on statute of limitation 
grounds.”10 

2. The Rhode Island Supreme Court ruled that courts may toll (suspend) the 
running of the statute of limitations in cases alleging repressed recollection 
of past sexual abuse.11 The Court had left this question unanswered in Kelly.12 The 
Court answered it in 2016. 

3. The General Assembly further extended the statute of limitations for 
lawsuits stemming from childhood sexual abuse in 2019.13 This law extended 
the period to file a lawsuit from 7 years to 35 years of turning 18 (age 53), and provided 
a 7-year period to bring a claim from when a victim discovers or reasonably should have 
discovered the injury. The General Assembly applied the extended period to lawsuits 
against both perpetrators of abuse and entities alleged to have negligently hired or 
supervised employees or volunteers. As introduced, the 2019 legislation would have 
applied these provisions retroactively and broadly revived claims for which the statute 
of limitations had already expired. Before enactment, however, the General Assembly 
amended the bill to permit time-barred claims against perpetrators only.  

4. The Rhode Island Supreme Court reaffirmed that the 2019 reviver applied 
only to claims against perpetrators. It has not revisited Kelly. In a 2023 
ruling, the Rhode Island Supreme Court found that the lower courts properly dismissed 
negligence claims stemming from abuse that occurred in the 1970s and 1980s, as these 
lawsuits were not revived by the 2019 law. Since the General Assembly had not revived 
those claims, the Supreme Court did not have reason to consider the 2019 law’s 
constitutionality.14 

5. Since Rhode Island enacted the 2019 law, four states have found similar 
reviver laws unconstitutional.15 These courts joined what the Rhode Island 
Supreme Court described in Kelly as the approach followed by the “great 
preponderance” of state appellate courts.16 This remains true today as it was in 1996. As 
the Maine Supreme Court recognized this year, “the majority of state courts of last 
resort continue to adhere to the view that revival is precluded” and found “precedent 
from the minority of other jurisdictions that allow revival after their statutes of 
limitations have expired is not persuasive.17 

                                                 

1 P.L.1992, ch. 84. 
2 P.L.1993, ch. 274, § 1. 
3 Kelly, 678 A.2d at 880. 
4 Id. at 884. 
5 Id. at 883. 
6 Id. 
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7 Spunt v. Oak Hill Nursing Home, Inc., 509 A.2d 463, 465-66 (R.I. 1986) (holding that extension of the statute of limitations 
for wrongful death claims from two to three years could retroactively apply when it “does not act to revive a dead cause of 
action because the plaintiff's claim was never time barred”). 
8 Kelly, 678 A.2d at 883 (recognizing that an immunity from a lawsuit is as valuable a right as the right to prosecute that suit; 
both are vested rights protected against legislative deprivation by due process and both are entitled to constitutional 
protection). 
9 See, e.g., Rotchford v. Union R. Co., 54 A. 932, 933 (R.I. 1903) (interpreting a reduction of the statute of limitations for 
personal injury actions from six years to two years to not apply retrospectively to accrued claims). 
10 Theta Properties v. Ronci Realty Co., 814 A.2d 907, 916-17 (R.I. 2003) (holding that a law extending the time to sue a 
dissolved corporation could not apply retroactively to allow claims after the two-year period that applied at the time had 
expired). 
11 Hyde v. Roman Catholic Bishop of Providence, 139 A.3d 460 (R.I. 2016) (determining that repressed recollection would toll 
the statute of limitations where the plaintiff at issue met the standard for unsound mind under Rhode Island law). 
12 Kelly, 678 A.2d at 879. 
13 S. 315 Sub. A (R.I. 2019) (enacted and effective July 1, 2019) (amending R.I. Gen. Laws § 9-1-51). 
14 Houllahan v. Gelineau, 296 A.3d 710 (R.I. 2023). 
15 Aurora Public Schools v. Saupe, 531 P.3d 1036 (Colo. 2023); Thompson v. Killary, 683 S.W.3d 641 (Ky. 2024); Mitchell v. 
Roberts, 469 P.3d 901, 903, 913 (Utah 2020); Dupuis v. Roman Catholic Bishop of Portland, No. BCD-23-122, 2025 ME 6 
(Me. Jan. 28, 2025). 
16 Kelly, 678 A.2d at 883. 
17 Dupuis, 2025 ME 6, at ¶ 34. 


