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 Remote Sellers

 H 5150 – Article 2

 H 5151 – Article 5, Sec. 11 (same as Art. 2)

 H 5278 – Stand alone duplicate

 Mobile Sports betting

 H 5150 – Article 3

 H 5241 – Stand alone duplicate
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 7% tax on retail goods, unless specific 

exemption & some specified services

 The purchaser pays at the time of sale

▪ Use tax is generally self reported 

 Retailer remits to the state monthly, by the 

20th day of the month following the month 

in which the sale was made

 Small retailers, whose six month average is 

less than $200 per month, file quarterly
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 Purchases made out of state or from 

remote sellers who do not collect RI 

sales tax are subject to use tax

 If no sales tax was charged, 7% is owed

 If sales tax less than 7% is charged, 

difference is owed

▪ Auto purchased in Massachusetts
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 Compelling collection from out of 

state sellers had been seen as an 

impediment to interstate commerce

 Two Supreme Court rulings set 

standard for nexus as “physical 

presence”

 National Bella v. Hess (1967)

 Quill v. North Dakota (1992)
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 Rhode Island had taken several 

measures over the past decade to 

facilitate collection of use taxes owed 

on remote transactions

 Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement 

and Membership - 2007 

 “Amazon” Law - 2009

 Use Tax Look-Up Table – 2014

 Non-Collecting Retailers legislation - 2017



 Streamlined Sales & Use Tax 

Agreement (SSUTA)

 Collective effort by states to simplify and 

modernize sales and use tax administration

▪ Substantially reduce burden of tax compliance

 Participating retailers volunteer to collect 

taxes for member states

▪ Rhode Island became a full member in 2007

▪ Collections were $5.1 million in FY 2018
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 “Amazon Law” – 2009 

 Added companies that contract 

with RI companies and sell over the 

internet to the definition “retailer”  
▪ Certain sites dropped RI affiliates rather than 

comply/challenge

▪ NY law was basis and found constitutional

 In January 2017 Amazon announced it 

had agreed to begin collecting sales tax 

from its RI customers on Feb 1
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 Sales Tax Revisions

 Rise of remote sales changed sales tax base

 Increased focus on rates and taxable base

 Multiple proposals considered all while 

congressional action was pending on 

remote sales allowance

 2013 Assembly added provision to lower 

rate to 6.5% upon federal action
▪ Maintain 8% on Meals & Beverage and Hotel with 

extra 0.5% going to locals – up from 1%

▪ Extension of 2012 language on luxury clothing tax
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 Use Tax Tool - 2014

 Assembly authorized Tax Administrator to 

develop tool for personal income tax 

forms to simplify use tax collection

▪ 0.08% of federal adjusted gross income

▪ Additional itemized tax owed on purchases of 

$1,000 or more

 Proper use of tool  is “safe harbor” for all 

use tax owed

▪ Collections for Tax Year 2017 were $1.2 million
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 Colorado case ruling opened door to 

additional option 
▪ Physical presence was still standard for 

collection but notification & reporting 

acceptable

 Remote sellers seen as more likely to 

opt for collection rather than reporting 

requirements

 Basis for current law adopted in 2017



 Requirements to collect & remit sales 

tax or  provide certain notices to 

taxpayers 

 Depends on the entities’ activities 

 Three separate categories

 Non-Collecting Retailers

 Retail Sale Facilitators

 Referrers

 Penalties of $10 per notice not sent; 

minimum $10,000
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Entity Sales 

Threshold

Requirements

Non-

Collecting 

Retailers

$100,000 in 

gross RI 

revenue or 

at least 200 

RI sales 

transactions

Collect and Remit Sales tax  OR 

Comply with customer notice 

requirements

Must provide Taxation with lists 

of retailer names and addresses 

1)for whom taxes were 

collected and 2) not collected

Retail Sale 

Facilitators

Referrers

$100k/200

plus $10K in 

commissions

Must notify retailers that their 

sales may be subject to RI’s sales 

and use tax
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Non-Collecting Retailer: Meets at least 
one of these criteria: 

Uses in-
state 

software 
to make 
sales at 

retail 

Sells, leases, 
or delivers in 

RI – or 
participates 

in any 
activity in RI 

in 
connection 
with above

Uses a sales 
process that 

includes 
listing, 

branding, or 
selling 

Offers items 
for sale 

through one 
or more 

“retail sales 
facilitators” 

w/ a 
physical 

presence 

Is related to 
an entity 

that has a 
physical 

presence in 
this state 
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Retail Sale Facilitator: Meets ALL  of 
these criteria

Uses in-state 
software to make 

sales at retail 

Contracts with a 
retailer to list or 

advertise sales in 
any forum, 

including, but not 
limited to, a 
catalog or 

website

Collects payments 
– directly or 

indirectly – from 
the in-state 

customer and 
transmits those 
payments to a 

retailer

15



Referrer: Meets ALL of these criteria

Receives a fee, 
commission, or 

other 
consideration 

from a retailer for 
the listing or 

advertisement 

Transfers an in-
state customer to 

the retailer (via  
telephone, 
Internet, or 

otherwise)

Does not collect 
payments from 

the in-state 
customer for the 

transaction 
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 South Dakota adopted legislation 

following years of a multi-state effort to 

overcome Quill restrictions through 

congressional action

 Also to draw legal challenge

 June 2018 US Supreme Court ruling 

South Dakota v. Wayfair overturned 

the “physical presence” standard 
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 Limitations and protections included in 

the South Dakota law avoided 

creation of undue burden on interstate 

commerce

 Safe harbor for limited activity

 No retroactivity

 Participation in SSUTA



19

 Newly proposed legislation would 

simplify current RI law in conformance 

with the Wayfair ruling 

 Updates definitions

 Adds definitions for marketplace, facilitator 

and sellers

 Phases out use of term non-collecting 

retailers
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 Compels all affected entities to 

register with the Division of Taxation

 Collect and remit sales tax

 Includes safe harbor provisions

 Technical Changes

 Correction to penalties language

 Incorporation of 2018 sales tax expansion 

language



Entity Sales 

Threshold

Requirements

Non-

Collecting 

Retailers

$100,000 in 

gross RI 

revenue or 

at least 200 

RI sales 

transactions

Collect and Remit Sales tax  OR 

Comply with customer notice 

requirements

Must provide Taxation with lists 

of retailer names and addresses 

1)for whom taxes were 

collected and 2) not collected

Retail Sale 

Facilitators

Referrers

$100k/200

plus $10K in 

commissions

Must notify retailers that their 

sales may be subject to RI’s sales 

and use tax
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Entity Sales 

Threshold

Requirements

Remote Sellers/ 

Marketplace $100,000 in gross 

RI revenue or at 

least 200 RI sales 

transactions

Collect and Remit Sales 

Tax
Marketplace

Facilitator

Referrers

$100k/200 plus 

$10K in 

commissions

Collect and Remit (if 

not done by other

transaction 

participants)
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 FY 2020 budget assumes $11.5 million

 Compliance better with upfront collection vs 

reporting of use tax obligation

 Proposal requires 90 days lead time

 Would have to become law by April 1 to 

meet this estimate

 Additional technical changes needed

 Clarifying conflicting effective dates 90 days 

after passage vs July 1
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 Article does not address Marketplace 

Fairness triggers in current law

 Congress could still act to standardize 

practices

 Sales tax would drop to 6.5% if that happens

 Equates to over $80 million with no revenue 

to offset that loss

▪ New proposal closes last major loophole to 

capturing taxes on lost e-commerce activity that 

would have offset drop in rate
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Mobile Sports Betting

FY 2020 – assumes January start $3.0 million

FY 2021 $8.5 million

 H 5150 – Article 3

 H 5241 – Stand alone duplicate
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 2018 Assembly authorized sports 

betting at the state’s existing casinos

 Previously outlawed at federal level

 Supreme Court overturned prohibition 

via Professional and Amateur Sports 

Protection Act of 1992 (PASPA)

 New Jersey challenged law
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 Must open an account in person at the 

hosting casino

 Servers and all related equipment must 

be located within the gaming facilities

 Wagers may only be placed while 

within state borders

 Technology must confirm that

 Not limited to casino operating hours

 Additional technical changes needed
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 Handle: amount wagered.

 Hold percentage: Ratio of revenue to handle, 

also referred to as win percentage.

Handle Hold % Hold
0.25% 

Fed Tax 

Gaming 

Revenue

Fixed 

Cost

51% 

State

Share

FY 2019 $913.6 6.25 $49.1 ($2.0) $47.2 ($1.2) $23.5

FY 2019 REC $386.2 6.25 $24.1 ($1.0) $23.2 ($0.6) $11.5

FY 2020 REC $902.6 6.25 $56.4 ($2.3) $54.2 ($0.6) $27.3

FY 2020 Gov. $1,064.6 5.90 $62.8 ($2.7) $60.1 ($0.8) $30.3

Difference $162.0 (0.35) $6.4 ($0.4) $6.0 ($0.2) $3.0
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 Issues to consider

 What is reasonable development time for 

capacity

▪ Revenue assumption based on January start

▪ Would earlier passage mean earlier start?

▪ Initial sports betting rollout was much slower than 

prior estimates/plan

▪ Phased start dates and amenities

 Are all federal regulatory hurdles satisfied 

with technology to restrict to in-state?
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