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March 22, 2017



 Article 8 – Taxes and Revenues

 Section 1 Gas Tax 

 Section 2 & 3 Cigarette Tax

 Section 8 Other Tobacco Products

 Sections 4 & 7 Taxation Enforcement

 Section 5 Corporate Tax Withholding

 Section 6 Sales Tax Exemption

 Article 9 – Remote Sellers 
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 Current law – DHS receives 1 cent of the 

gas tax for paratransit services - $4.4 

million

 Elderly/disabled transportation

 Contracts with RIPTA for some services

 Current contract:

 DHS keeps 21% - $0.9 million

▪ Non Medicaid paratransit services

 RIPTA receives 79% -$3.5 million 
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 RIPTA $3.5 million:

 $2.5 million to subsidize elderly/disabled bus 

services

 $1.0 million for match on paratransit 

vehicles purchases plus, maintenance, 

inspection, wheelchair lifts

▪ Billed monthly

▪ May not get first payment until January 

▪ EOHHS has administrative oversight 

▪ Legislative solution for administrative problem?
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 Current law – Tax on all cigarettes 

sold or held for sale in the state
 Tax evidenced by stamps

 Current state tax is $3.75 per pack of 20 

(effective August 1, 2015)

 FY 2018 Proposal - Increase cigarette 

tax by $0.50 to $4.25 per pack of 20
 Effective 12:01am, August 1, 2017



 FY 2018 Budget includes $8.7 million 

 Cigarette tax - $6.5 million

 Sales tax - $1.1 million

 Floor Tax - $1.0 million

▪ Tax on existing inventory – difference between 

the two tax rate

 Estimate includes 5.3% demand drop

 FY 2017 estimate for $0.25 increase 

included 0.7% demand drop
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 2015 Assembly increased tax from 

$3.50 to $3.75

Fiscal Year 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 

REC

2018

Gov.

Per pack 

Tax

$3.50 $3.50 $3.75 $3.75 $3.75 $4.25

Total 

(millions)

$134.6 $132.7 $136.6 $130.4 $126.1 $133.7
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 Each state/territory has own tax

 Highest – New York, $4.35/pack

 CT is 2nd highest at $3.90/pack

 RI is 3rd highest at $3.75/pack

 Lowest – Missouri, $0.17/pack

 36 states & DC have tax of >$1.00

 18 states & DC have tax of ≥ $2.00

 8 states have tax of $3.00 or more
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New England 

States
Tax U.S. Rank

Connecticut $     3.90 2

Maine $     2.00 14

Massachusetts $     3.51 4

New Hampshire $     1.78 21

Rhode Island $     3.75 3

Vermont $     3.08 6

Source: Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, Jan. 3, 2017
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 State cigarette tax not only factor in 

final price

 Federal tax - $1.01 since 2009

 State sales tax 

 Some states allow local cigarette tax 

options in addition to state tax

 New York City - $1.50 local tax

 Chicago - $1.18 local tax, $3.00 county 

tax
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 Base price of product
 Product use/popularity

 Minimum markup – Retail and 

Wholesale
 Lowest price at which product can be 

sold

 To prevent sales below cost or unfair 

pricing

 1939 Assembly enacted initial minimum 

markup laws
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Consumer – Pays retail price plus sales tax

Dealers (Retailers)

Must include retail minimum markup in price to consumers

Distributors (Wholesalers)
Pay cigarette tax

Must include wholesale minimum markup in price to dealers

Manufacturer

Sets the product base price
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Current Prices RI CT MA

Base price/pack of 20 (incl. fed. excise tax) $    4.39 $    4.39 $    4.03

State Cigarette Tax 3.75 3.90 3.51

Total Base Price/pack of 20 $   8.14 $  8.29 $  7.54

Minimum Markup – Wholesaler 2.75% 6.50% 2.75%

Minimum Markup – Retailer 6.00% 8.00% 25.00%

Total Markup/pack of 20 8.93% 15.02% 28.44%

Post Markup Price/pack of 20 $   8.87 $   9.54 $   9.69

Sales Tax Rate 7.0% 6.35% 6.25%

Final Retail Price $   9.49 $  10.14 $  10.29
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Current Prices
RI 

(Art. 8)
CT MA

Base price/pack of 20 $     4.39 $    4.39 $    4.03

State Cigarette Tax 4.25 3.90 3.51

Total Base Price/pack of 20 $     8.64 $   8.29 $   7.54

Minimum Markup – Wholesaler 2.75% 6.50% 2.75%

Minimum Markup – Retailer 6.00% 8.00% 25.00%

Total Markup/pack of 20 8.93% 15.02% 28.44%

Post Markup Price/pack of 20 $     9.41 $   9.54 $   9.69

Sales Tax Rate 7.0% 6.35% 6.25%

Final Retail Price $   10.07 $  10.14 $ 10.29
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 Other Tobacco Products– Tax on 

products sold or held for sale, except 

cigarettes 

 Tax evidenced by stamps

 Current tax is 80% of wholesale

 Technical changes to be consistent 

with enacted law

 No revenue assumed from changes
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 Authorizes Tax Administrator 

 Certain punitive powers

 Designed to improve collections

▪ Jeopardy determination

▪ Letter of good standing request prior to 

transfer or sale of a business

 Recovery of legal fees

 Increased penalties for failure to 

remit taxes collected
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 2013 Assembly criminalized use of  

software or other technology that 

allows the modification of point-of-sale 

records or transaction data

 Article 8 adds remote manipulation to 

prohibition 

 Persons may not knowingly send or  

receive data for purposes of manipulation
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 2016 Assembly lowered minimum C 

corporation withholding from 9.0% to 

7.0%

 Established a $400 Minimum 

withholding 

 Corrects withholding rate for pass-

through entities to 7.0 percent

 Includes S corporations, Partnerships, LLCs, 

LLPs, Trusts
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 Limits tax exemption certificates for 

charitable organizations to be valid 

for 4 years

 Retroactive for all certificates effective 

July 1, 2017

 Maintains current fee of $25
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 Purchases made out of state or from 

remote sellers who do not collect RI 

sales tax are subject to use tax

 If no sales tax was charged, 7% is owed

 If sales tax less than 7% is charged, 

difference is owed

▪ Auto purchased in Massachusetts
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 Compelling collection from out of 

state sellers has been seen as an 

impediment to interstate commerce

 Two Supreme Court rulings set 

standard for nexus as “physical 

presence”

 National Bella v. Hess (1967)

 Quill v. North Dakota (1992)
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 Rhode Island has taken several 

measures over the years to facilitate 

collection of use taxes owed on remote 

transactions

 Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement 

and Membership - 2007 

 “Amazon” Law - 2009

 Use Tax Look-Up Table - 2014



 Streamlined Sales and Use Agreement 

 Collective effort by states to simplify and 

modernize sales and use tax 

administration

▪ Substantially reduce burden of tax compliance

 Participating retailers volunteer to collect 

taxes for member states

▪ Rhode Island became a full member in 2007

▪ Recent annual collections $2.7 million
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 “Amazon Law” – 2009 

 Added companies that contract 

with RI companies and sell over the 

internet to the definition “retailer”  
▪ Certain sites dropped RI affiliates rather than 

comply/challenge

 In January 2017, Amazon announced it 

had agreed to begin collecting sales tax 

from its RI customers

▪ Doing so for 41 states and DC now
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 Use Tax Tool - 2014

 Assembly authorized Tax Administrator to 

develop tool for personal income tax 

forms to simplify use tax collection

▪ 0.08% of federal adjusted gross income

▪ Additional itemized tax owed on purchases of 

$1,000 or more

 Proper use of tool  is “safe harbor” for all 

use tax owed

▪ Budget assumed $2.2 million in additional 

revenues, about half has been realized
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 Recent Colorado case ruling opened 

door to additional option

 National Marketing Association v. Brohl

(2016)

▪ Physical presence still standard for collection 

but notification & reporting acceptable

 Remote Sellers likely opt for collection 

rather than reporting requirements
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 Article 9 establishes requirements for 

certain entities engaged in transaction 

activities within RI

 Collect and remit taxes, or 

 Provide notice to buyers of their tax liability

 Applies to those with revenues of 

$100,000 or 200 transactions

 Marketplace providers, remote sellers or 

referrers
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 Notices

 To buyers:  tax liability notice on website, at 

purchase, and via email within 48 hours of 

purchase

▪ Annual tax document mailing by Jan. 31

 To retailors from referrers with $10,000 in 

referral fees that transaction may be 

subject to tax

 Penalties

 $5 per notice not sent; minimum $20,000
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 Budget assumes  $34.7 million in 

revenues

 Uses national sales data scaled to RI

 Assumes a full year of collections and full 

compliance

▪ Out of sync with drafting on compliance date

▪ Amendment submitted to change dates 

▪ Does not account for current use tax collections

▪ SSUTA voluntary collections - $2.7 million

▪ Lookup table - possible revision needed?



Revenue Estimation Methodology

U.S. E-Commerce Sales 2010 $1,790.0

Avg. Annual Growth 2010-2014 15.0%

Total Est. Sales 2018 $3,122.0

Est. Rhode Island Share 0.27%

Est. RI E-Commerce Sales $835.0

Est. Non-Nexus Sales 59.4%

Est. Sales Subject to Collection $495.9

RI State Sales Tax 7.0%

Est. FY 2018 Revenue $34.7

$  in millions
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 Requested amendments on compliance

 Directs compliance w/in 2 weeks of passage 

▪ Consistent with revenue estimate

 Non-collectors must file reporting 

compliance notification by Feb. 15 annually

 Alters language on referrers’ notice to 90 

days consistent with streamlined tax 

agreement
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