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 Article 9 – Remote Sellers

 Governor’s original article with subsequent 

amendments heard 3/22

 Re-write submitted 5/25

 Tonight’s presentation will review 

changes and include more 

background on sales tax
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 Purchases made out of state or from 

remote sellers who do not collect RI 

sales tax are subject to use tax

 If no sales tax was charged, 7% is owed

 If sales tax less than 7% is charged, 

difference is owed

▪ Auto purchased in Massachusetts
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 Compelling collection from out of 

state sellers has been seen as an 

impediment to interstate commerce

 Two Supreme Court rulings set 

standard for nexus as “physical 

presence”

 National Bella v. Hess (1967)

 Quill v. North Dakota (1992)



5

 Rhode Island has taken several 

measures over the years to facilitate 

collection of use taxes owed on remote 

transactions

 Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement 

and Membership - 2007 

 “Amazon” Law - 2009

 Use Tax Look-Up Table - 2014



 Streamlined Sales and Use Agreement 

 Collective effort by states to simplify and 

modernize sales and use tax 

administration

▪ Substantially reduce burden of tax compliance

 Participating retailers volunteer to collect 

taxes for member states

▪ Rhode Island became a full member in 2007

▪ Recent annual collections $2.7 million
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 “Amazon Law” – 2009 

 Added companies that contract 

with RI companies and sell over the 

internet to the definition “retailer”  
▪ Certain sites dropped RI affiliates rather than 

comply/challenge

 In January 2017 Amazon announced it 

had agreed to begin collecting sales tax 

from its RI customers on Feb 1

▪ Doing so for 41 states and DC now
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 Use Tax Tool - 2014

 Assembly authorized Tax Administrator to 

develop tool for personal income tax 

forms to simplify use tax collection

▪ 0.08% of federal adjusted gross income

▪ Additional itemized tax owed on purchases of 

$1,000 or more

 Proper use of tool  is “safe harbor” for all 

use tax owed

▪ Budget assumed $2.2 million in additional 

revenues, about half has been realized



9

 Recent Colorado case ruling opened 

door to additional option

 National Marketing Association v. Brohl

(2016)

▪ Physical presence still standard for collection 

but notification & reporting acceptable

 Remote sellers seen as more likely to 

opt for collection rather than reporting 

requirements



10

 Article 9 establishes requirements for 

certain entities engaged in transaction 

activities within RI

 Collect and remit taxes, or 

 Provide notice to buyers of their tax liability

 Applies to those with revenues of 

$100,000 or 200 transactions

 Marketplace providers, remote sellers or 

referrers



11

 Notices

 To buyers:  tax liability notice on website, at 

purchase, and via email within 48 hours of 

purchase

▪ Annual tax document mailing by Jan. 31

 To retailers from referrers with $10,000 in 

referral fees that transaction may be 

subject to tax

 Penalties

 $5 per notice not sent; minimum $20,000



 Same concept of requiring collection or  

notification

 Newly asserts that the existence and/or 

presence of software (such as 

“cookies” or “apps”) on the electronic 

devices of in-state customers means 

that an online retailer has physical 

presence in RI
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 Requirements collecting and remitting 

sales tax, or  providing certain notices 

to taxpayers differ  depending  upon 

the entities’ activities 

 Three separate categories

 Non-Collecting Retailers

 Retail Sale Facilitators

 Referrers

 Amended penalties to $10 per notice not 

sent; minimum $10,000
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Non-Collecting Retailer: Meets at least 
one of these criteria: 

Uses in-
state 

software 
to make 
sales at 

retail 

Sells, leases, 
or delivers in 

RI – or 
participates 

in any 
activity in RI 

in 
connection 
with above

Uses a sales 
process that 

includes 
listing, 

branding, or 
selling 

Offers items 
for sale 

through one 
or more 

“retail sales 
facilitators” 

w/ a 
physical 

presence 

Is related to 
an entity 

that has a 
physical 

presence in 
this state 
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Retail Sale Facilitator: Meets ALL  of 
these criteria

Uses in-state 
software to make 

sales at retail 

Contracts with a 
retailer to list or 

advertise sales in 
any forum, 

including, but not 
limited to, a 
catalog or 

website

Collects payments 
– directly or 

indirectly – from 
the in-state 

customer and 
transmits those 
payments to a 

retailer
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Referrer: Meets ALL of these criteria

Receives a fee, 
commission, or 

other 
consideration 

from a retailer for 
the listing or 

advertisement 

Transfers an in-
state customer to 

the retailer (via  
telephone, 
Internet, or 

otherwise)

Does not collect 
payments from 

the in-state 
customer for the 

transaction 
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Entity Sales 

Threshold

Requirements

Non-

Collecting 

Retailers

$100,000 in 

gross RI 

revenue or 

at least 200 

RI sales 

transactions

Collect and Remit Sales tax  OR 

Comply with customer notice 

requirements

Must provide Taxation with lists 

of retailer names and addresses 

1)for whom taxes were 

collected and 2) not collected

Retail Sale 

Facilitators

Referrers

$100k/200

plus $10K in 

commissions

Must notify retailers that their 

sales may be subject to RI’s sales 

and use tax
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 Budget assumes  $34.7 million in 

revenues

 Uses national sales data scaled to RI

 Assumes a full year of collections and full 

compliance

▪ Did not account for current use tax collections 

▪ SSUTA voluntary collections - $2.7 million

▪ Lookup table – law unchanged



Revenue Estimation Methodology

U.S. E-Commerce Sales 2010 $1,790.0

Avg. Annual Growth 2010-2014 15.0%

Total Est. Sales 2018 $3,122.0

Est. Rhode Island Share 0.27%

Est. RI E-Commerce Sales $835.0

Est. Non-Nexus Sales 59.4%

Est. Sales Subject to Collection $495.9

RI State Sales Tax 7.0%

Est. FY 2018 Revenue $34.7

$  in millions
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 Amazon retail collections now included 

in baseline revenue estimate

 Collections began on Feb 1

 Original Art 9 -new impact - $17.2 million

 Incorporates SSUTA payments

 Current estimated Amazon collections

 Amended version would add $2.6 million 

from catalog sales
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 Article does not change use tax lookup 

table tool

 Current collections $1.5 million

 Article does not address Marketplace 

Fairness triggers in current law

 Drop to 6.5% reduces collections by 

approximately $75 million

 To the extent the state is able to capture lost 

e-commerce activity, there would be no 

revenue to offset that loss
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 Who Pays

 Rates

 Comparison

 Recent proposed and enacted 

changes



 The purchaser pays at the time of sale

 Use tax is generally self reported 

 Retailer remits to the state monthly, by 

the 20th day of the month following 

the month in which the sale was made

 Small retailers, whose six months 

average is less than $200 per month, 

file quarterly
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 Who Pays

 Rates

 Comparison

 Recent proposed and enacted 

changes
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Effective 

Date

Rate Effective 

Date

Rate

July 1, 1947 1% June 1, 1965 4%

June 1, 1951 2% June 1, 1967 5%

June 1, 1964 3% June 1,  1976 6%

June 1, 1964 3.5% July 1, 1990 7%*

*Increase from 6% to 7% as originally enacted was to 

decrease to 6.5 % on July 1, 1991; the law was amended 

in 1991 to retain 7% rate 



 Meals and Beverage Tax

 7% sales tax – general fund

 1% on tax on gross receipts from sale of 

food and beverages sold in or from eating 

and drinking establishments effective 

August 1, 2003  - locals
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 Hotel Tax

 7% sales and use tax – general 

fund  

 5.0% charge for occupancy –

regional tourism, state tourism and 

locals

 1% tax – locals



 Who Pays

 Rates

 Comparison

 Recent proposed and enacted 

changes
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 45 states impose

 Only 1 state tax rate above 7%

 California is 7.25%

 Many states have local option taxes 

increasing the total sales tax in some 

cases over 9%

 Rhode Island ranks 21st on total sales 

tax rate
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 Rhode Island’s tax rate is applied to a  

narrow base 

 Exempts clothing and food

 60+ other categories

 Generally does not tax services

 Differences among states more 

apparent outside New England
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 Who Pays

 Rates

 Comparison

 Recent proposed and enacted 

changes



 Sales and use tax rate reduction from 

7%  to 6%

 Expansion of sales tax base

 1.0 % sales tax on certain items 

currently exempt 

 Sunset if Congress acts on remote sales 

tax collection
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 Drop rate from 7% to 6%

 $118 million reduction in revenues per 1 

percent change

 Apply 6% percent tax to items 

currently not taxed - $198 million add
▪ Goods - $22 million

▪ Services - $123 million

▪ Recreation & entertainment - $21 million

▪ Labor on maintenance & repairs - $27 million

▪ Other - $5 million
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 Goods - $22 million

 Prewritten software 

delivered 

electronically

 Non Prescription 

Drugs 

 Newspapers

 Trade-in value on 

insurance proceeds

 Services - $123 million

 Home & blding services

 Taxi cabs/transp

 Scenic & sightseeing tours

 Employment agencies

 Pet Services

 Personal Care - Salons

 Business support services

 Laundry & dry cleaning
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 Recreation & 

entertainment - $21 

million

 Amusement Parks

 Campgrounds

 Membership Clubs

 Labor on 

Maintenance & 

Repairs - $27 million

 Motor vehicles

 Appliances, Clothing 

etc.
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 Apply 1% to some exempt items =       

$86.8 million including 

 Manufacturing inputs & equip. - $45.0 million

 Sales to Non Profits - $10.6 million

 Clothing and footwear - $6.6 million

 Auto trade-in values - $2.5 million

 Home Heating Fuel - $2.2 million



 2012 Assembly

 Repealed sales tax on package tours & 

sightseeing services 

 Removed exemption on clothing & footwear 

costing > $250 per item

 Added taxis, limos, charter bus services and 

pet care services
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 2012 Assembly

 Added provision that if Congress enacts 

legislation to require remote sellers to collect 

& remit taxes, the tiered clothing system 

would be repealed

 2013 Assembly added provision to lower rate 

from 7% to 6.5% upon federal action

▪ Would maintain 8% on Meals and Beverage and 

Hotel with extra 0.5% going to locals
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 2013 Assembly

 Exempted retail wine and spirit sales from 

December 1, 2013 – March 31, 2015

▪ 2014 Assembly extended to June 30, 2015

▪ 2015 Assembly made it permanent

 Exempted qualified original art 

 2014 Assembly

 Established safe harbor for filers that use 

lookup table to estimate taxes owed on 

taxable items purchased from vendors that 

do not collect or remit sales tax
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 2015 Assembly

 Exempted commercial energy sales from 

sales tax

 Expanded lodging covered by sales tax

 2016 Assembly

 Clarified inclusion of transportation network 

companies
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