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~ Impact on Expenditures ~ Impact on Revenues

FY2024 $0 FY 2024 $0
FY 2025 $0 FY 2025 $(3,769,299)
FY 2026 $0 FY 2026 $(5,132,373)

Explanation by State Budget Office:

This proposal would allow purchasers of a motor vehicle who are trading in a truck with a gross
vehicle weight of less than 14,000 Ibs., private passenger automobile or motorcycle as part of the
transaction to pay the use tax at registration on the gross price of the motor vehicle minus the value
of the motor vehicle taken in trade. The use tax at registration would be determined by multiplying
the net value of the transaction by 7%. Under current Rhode Island law, all purchasers of trucks who
register the truck in the state pay a use tax at registration equal to 7% of the gross purchase price of
the truck being registered with no consideration given for the value of the truck traded in. Trade-in
values are already exempt from use tax for private passenger automobiles and motorcycles. This hill
proposes to add trucks with a gross vehicle weight of less than 14,000 Ibs. into one section of law
along with motorcycles and private passenger automobiles.

Summary of Facts and Assumptions:

The bill is effective upon passage. To match similar proposals relating to sales tax on vehicle trade-in
values, the Office of Revenue Analysis (ORA) assumed the exemption would take effect October 1,
2024. The Division of Taxation notes that under R.l. Gen. Laws § 44-18.1-5 and because Rhode
Island is a signatory to the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement (SSUTA), it is necessary to
allow for at least a ninety (90) day period for the change and limit the effective date of a change to
the beginning of a calendar quarter. This analysis uses data from the Division of Motor Vehicles
(DMV) that specifies the trade-in value of trucks purchased in Massachusetts by Rhode Island
residents. Massachusetts, unlike Rhode Island, allows the value of trade-ins to be exempt from that
state’'s sales and use tax. Rhode Island residents are required to pay the difference in sales and use
tax between Massachusetts (6.25%) and Rhode Island (7%) when they register their vehicle in Rhode
Island. As part of this process, those purchasers must add back the value of the trade-in to calculate
the Rhode Island use tax owed. According to the DMV data, the trade-in value from Massachusetts-
purchased trucks less than 14,000 pounds would have lowered sales and use tax collections (had
those trade-in amounts been exempt from Rhode Island taxation) by 14.0% in FY 2023. ORA
assumed that the value of trade-ins associated with non-Massachusetts dealers would be similar
and applied that rate to the other truck transactions in the data. In FY 2023, the value of total truck
transactions less than 14,000 pounds in the DMV data from dealers other than Massachusetts
dealers was $413,196,071. Reducing this by 14.0% indicates that exempting the trade-in value
would have reduced the value of these transactions by $57,834,063. Applying Rhode Island’s 7%
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use tax rate indicates that the exemption of this trade-in value would have reduced sales and use tax
by $4,048,384. Sales and use tax on the trade-in value of trucks purchased in Massachusetts was
$709,147 (which would also be forgone under this bill). Adding the loss from Massachusetts and
non-Massachusetts transactions reveals a total loss in FY 2023 form the proposal of $4,757,532.
The revenue loss was grown using the estimated growth rates for all sales and use tax adopted at
the November 2023 Revenue Estimating Conference for FY 2024 and FY 2025 (and the growth rate
estimated for FY 2026 in the Governor's FY 2025 budget submission). The loss estimate was also
prorated for an October 1, 2024, start date by discounting by 25.0% (which is the average share of
DMV revenue that occurs between July and September over the last five years).

Comments on Sources of Funds:
All sales and use taxes are general revenues,

Summary of Fiscal Impact:
FY 2024: Not applicable given the assumed effective date of October 1, 2024,

FY 2025: A general revenue loss of $3,769,299 is forecast.

FY 2026: A general revenue loss of $5,132,373 is forecast.
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