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Bottle Redemption Laws
and Convenience Stores

i Nn N eWw EnN g | an d New England Convenience Store & Energy Marketers Association

By Peter Brennan, Executive Director, NECSEMA




Who We Are

The New England Convenience Store & Energy Marketers Association (NECSEMA)
represents convenience store and gasoline retailers, independent transportation fuel
distributors, and the businesses which supply them. NECSEMA members own, operate,
and supply the 7,000 c-stores in New England, including over 400 convenience stores that
employ almost 7,000 people in Rhode Island.
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Convenience Stores of Rhode Island




Data for the Convenience Stores of Rhode Island

Total Stores

Stores Selling Gas
Total Employees
Transactions Per Day
Total Sales
Merchandise
Foodservice

Fuel

Gallons of Fuel
Gallons of Diesel
Labor Expenses
Credit Card Fees Paid
Utilities Expenses

Taxes Collected

Average Per Store

1

1

16

1,010

$4,767,406
$1,550,710
$321,096
$3,667,664
1,209,482

238,800
$397,903
$91,200

$38,700
$1,074,136

State

415

327

6,682

419,150
$1,978,473,490
$643,544,650
$133,254,840
$1,522,080,560
501,935,030
99,102,000
$165,129,745
$37,848,000
$16,060,500
$445,766,282

Data provided by the National Association of Convenience Stores.

Please note not all store expenses are listed.



New England States with Bottle Deposit Laws
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Maine first passed a bottle bill in
1976, last updated in 2023 . All
beverages except dairy products
and unprocessed cider covered. 15
cent deposit on wine/liquor
bottles, 5 cents on all others
Bottles redeemed at retailers or
redemption centers, retailers with
5,000 sq. ft. or less may refuse
returns. Unclaimed deposits go to
the state.

Vermont

Vermont passed its first bottle bill
in 1972. It charges a 5 cent deposit
on beer, soda, cider, wine coolers,
and water bottles up to 1.5L. 80%
of unclaimed deposits go to the
state.
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Massachusetts
Massachusetts passed its first
bottle bill in 1981. It charges a 5
cent deposit on carbonated soft
drinks, beer, malt beverages, and
mineral water containers less than
3L. Unclaimed deposits go into the
general fund. FY21 redemption

rate of 38% = $70.4 million to the
Commonwealth.

/

Connecticut

Connecticut passed its bottle bill
in 1978, last updated in 2021. It
charges a 5 cent deposit on beer,
carbonated and non-carbonated
beverages, water, and malt
beverages containers up to 3L.
Deposit increases to 10 cents in
2024 for most beverages.
Unclaimed deposits go to
distributors, who pay it to the
state/retailers. Distributors pay
handling fees on claimed deposits
to redemption centers



Maine - Retailer Impact

Maine operates on 'Dealer Agreements' with
neighboring redemption centers so that

retailers/dealers aren't obligated to take back
bottles:

: 1. Dealer acceptance. Except as otherwise

provided in this section, a dealer operating a retail space of
5,000 square feet or more may not refuse to accept from any
consumer or other person not a dealer any empty, unbroken
and reasonably clean beverage container or refuse to pay in
cash the refund value of the returned beverage container as

established by section 3103 unless the dealer has a written
agreement with a redemption center to provide redemption

services on behalf of the dealer and that redemption center:
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https://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/38/title38sec3106.html

How Maine’s Bottle Bill Works

Manufacturer/Bottling
Company/Distributor
Collects 5 cents per
container when

product is sold

Receives 8.5 or 9 cents per
container from Bottling Company
or Distributor,

S cents is from the original deposit

plus a 3.5 or 4 cent handling fee

2 Retail Outlet

Collects S cents
deposit from the
consumer

Recovers S cent deposit
per container when
returned to alicensed
redemption center




Retailler Experience
IN Massachusetts

Massachusetts has been a bottle redemption state for over 40
years. Technically, any retailer (including vending machines) must
accept returns of any beverage that they sell. In practice, virtually

No returns are processed at our stores, as consumers take their

returns to redemption centers or utilize curbside recycling
programs. Many towns have single stream recycling programs,
when consumers dispose of their returnable bottles and cans
through curbside programs, the primary beneficiaries are the
material recovery facilities (MRFs) and the state, as the state
diverts escheat to the General Fund. Larger retailers will generally
have reverse vending machines that scan barcodes to reduce
fraud. Under the law, retailers must notify consumers that it is
against the law for them redeem containers purchased in other
states for deposit refunds in Massachusetts.
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Connecticut

Connecticut is undergoing the most significant
transformation of its beverage container redemption
program since the program was first implemented in

1980. Significant changes included 1) an increase in the
handling fee paid to retailers and operators of
redemption centers; 2) an expansion of the types of
beverages covered to include several new item
categories — including sports drinks, energy drinks,
and juices — beginning on January 1, 2023; and 3) an
increase in the deposit amount from $0.05 to $0.10
beginning on January 1, 2024.

Retailers must accept bottles that they sell. In practice,
many consumer use redemption centers. It is too early
to know the full impact of the recent changes on
retailers.
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Retaller Costs of Handling Returns

-5

Labor costs to handle and sort Storage space needed Lost sales space
returns Larger backrooms required for returned Less shelf space available for products due to
Additional staffing needed to process bottle storage returns
returns

Handling bottle returns creates additional costs for labor, storage, and lost sales space.




Logistical Challenges for Retallers
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- Managing volume of returns - Dealing with storage and pickup of - Preventing fraud
returns

High volume of returns creates logistical Need processes to verify legitimacy of
challenges with storage and transportation Need space to store returns and efficient pickup returns and prevent fraudulent claims
to clear storage

Managing logistics of returns is crucial for convenience stores

to efficiently comply with bottle redemption laws.




Customer Frustrations

Long Lines

Due to high volume of bottle
returns, lines at the register can
get very long during peak hours,
frustrating customers.

Cluttered Stores

With limited space, bottles
awaiting pickup can make
stores feel cluttered and
crowded for customers.

Confusion on Returns

Customers may get confused on
which bottles can be returned and
the return process, slowing things
down.

Sanitation Concerns

Open bottles awaiting pickup can
raise sanitation concerns and create
unpleasant odors.

Parking Congestion

Increase in bottle redemptions can
lead to parking lot congestion as
redemption centers get very busy.

Shopping Disruption

Customers trying to shop can get
disrupted by long lines and clutter
from bottle returns.




Key Takeaways

Bottle Laws Create Costs for Stores

Implementing bottle laws requires convenience
stores to purchase new equipment like bottle
crushers and sorting systems. Stores also need to
allocate labor and space to handle, and store

returned bottles.

Exemption for Smaller Retailers

Space is a concern and many retailers simply do not
have enough square footage to fit reverse vending
machines. Labor is also a concern, as small retailers
have limited personnel to process returns, and
extremely limited storage space.

Stores Need Help
Easing the Burden

Legislators could consider
subsidies or grants to help
stores offset costs of new
equipment and labor for
bottle returns.

Redemption Centers

Some stores have partnered with
external bottle collection services. This
can be mutually beneficial
arrangement for all parties, including
the state.

Curbside Recycling
Is Key

Curbside recycling has
been shown to greatly
increase recycling
rates.




Questions?

Peter Brennan
Executive Director

New England Convenience Store & Energy Marketers Association © peter@necsema.net




