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March 27, 2024

The Honorable Arthur Corvese
House Committee on Labor
State House

Providence, R1 02903

Dear Chairman Corvese and Committee Members,

The Northern RI Chamber of Commerce (NRICC) represents businesses in the communities of
Burrillville, Central Falls, Cumberland, Foster, Glocester, Johnston, Lincoln, North Providence,
North Smithfield, Pawtucket, Scituate, Smithfield and Woonsocket.

The Chamber is writing to express opposition to H.7579, Acts Relating to Labor and Labor
Relations — Minimum Wage. These bills override current law by further increasing the
minimum wage to even higher levels. In May of 2021, the legislature passed a budget article
increasing the minimum wage from $11.50 in 2020, to $12.25 effective January 1, 2022; $13.00
effective January 1, 2023; $14.00 effective January 1, 2024 and $15.00 effective January 1,
2025. For many businesses, labor is the highest operational cost, so an increase in wage is often
difficult. One way to help the business community is to provide ample time to adjust. In May of
2021, that is what we asked of the legislature, and the current schedule was the result of many
negotiations. H.7579 seeks to continuing raising the rate every year between 7% and 8% until
2030, when the legislation adopts an increase equal to the consumer price index.

When wages increase, there are other costs that are directly impacted by the increase. For
example, if the minimum wage is increased, the unemployment insurance premium goes up,
worker’s compensation insurance premiums go up, FICA payments increase. Prior to the
pandemic, Rhode Island’s unemployment trust fund had just over $500 million in it. Employers
were paying premiums based upon schedule “F” (the schedule starts at “A” and goes up with
each schedule resulting in a higher tax rate). A rate decrease was anticipated by most. We all
know what happened during the pandemic as businesses were forced to close their doors and
employees began collecting unemployment. Fraud occurred as well. The unemployment rate
schedule was raised to “H.” Today, employers are paying unemployment premiums based on
schedule “G” thanks to the General Assembly placing some ARPA money into the fund;
however, this is still higher than pre-pandemic levels. Rhode Island ranks 49™ out of 50 for
unemployment insurance tax liability (50 being the highest liability).
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Also, Rhode Island remains the only state in the country that requires employers to pay premium
pay to employees who work Sunday and holidays as part of their normal forty (40) hour work
week. For these employers, an increase in the minimum wage rate is an even greater hardship.
These additional costs of doing business are not considered as part of this proposal and are
simply increases that most businesses, especially our small businesses, cannot absorb without
directly impacting their ability to remain open or to bring employees back to stabilize and grow
in what we hope is soon to be a post-pandemic environment.

The Chamber encourages this committee oppose the passage of H.7579.

Respectfully submitted,
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enette Forry-Menard

Legislative Lobbyist




