The Alliance for Nonprofit Impact at United Way supports increasing the revenue threshold at which the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation (DBR) requires the submission of an independent audit for charitable solicitation registration.

Currently, R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-53.1-4 requires charitable organizations with annual gross income of \$500,000 or more to submit an independent audit when submitting their annual charitable solicitation registration. This threshold was established in 1999 (PL 1999, ch.152, Sec. 2).

Complying with the current regulations requires organizations to spend approximately \$10,000-\$15,000 of their \$500,000 revenue to contract for an independent audit, which is a significant outlay of funds that are not available for delivering essential programs and services. This is especially difficult when post-pandemic inflation has increased expenses significantly and has already caused 14% of nonprofit respondents to a 2023 survey to cancel or reduce programs and services. Eight percent have experienced increased borrowing costs, and 6% have had to reduce salaries or benefits to cut costs. In addition, Rhode Island has a limited pool of accountants doing nonprofit audits, and some nonprofits struggle even to find a firm to do their audit.

The federal government recently increased the level at which a Single Audit is required. As of October 1, 2024, according to the 2024 Uniform Guidance, "In support of objective (2)-reducing agency and recipient burden—OMB increased several monetary thresholds that have not been updated for many years. For example, OMB increased the single audit threshold from \$750,000 to \$1,000,000."

The Rhode Island state \$500,000 threshold has remained unchanged for 25 years, is not indexed to inflation, is now among the lowest state thresholds in the country, and should be indexed to the federal standard.

Importantly, raising the mandatory audit threshold does not mean every affected organization will automatically stop having an audit, and many will continue to do so. Other funders or contractors may require them, and many organizations voluntarily engage an independent audit as a standard practice. Many will also seek external input through a less expensive independent CPA financial review.

Furthermore, nonprofits will continue to submit IRS Form 990 filings with their charitable solicitation registration, which provides valuable financial and governance data for DBR. The DBR director would continue to have the authority to request an audited financial statement or other information from an organization whose gross receipts are below the mandatory threshold.

To safeguard against fraud and uphold the highest standards of transparency, ethics and accountability, the Alliance regularly and strongly encourages nonprofits who do not have a full audit to consider a CPA review, and to confer with a knowledgeable attorney or accountant to guide their decision-making. With the high cost of a standard audit, we believe raising the mandatory audit threshold will provide immediate relief and much-needed flexibility and a wider range of responsible options for non-profits to choose from.

According to Brown University's Community-Engaged Data and Evaluation Collaborative, there are 206 nonprofits in Rhode Island whose revenue is between \$500,000 and \$1 million, who would be affected by increasing the audit threshold to \$1 million. There are 546 RI nonprofits whose revenue is over \$1 million and would continue to require audits.

By way of comparison, 23 states have no audit requirements for nonprofits. The IRS similarly has no audit requirement, although the detailed information required in the 990 filing is made available to the public. The threshold for federal agencies requiring a single audit is based on total federal funding received and is not tied to gross revenue or other sources of funding.

The lowest state threshold is \$500,000, shared by several states, although Rhode Island's statute is significantly older than other peer states.

Other Northeast states have the following audit thresholds:

Maine No requirement

State	Date	Amount	Qualifier	Notes
Alaska	2018	\$750,000	Receiving state funding, based on expenses	Alaska Admin. Code 2.45.010
Arkansas		\$500,000	Gross revenue	Ark. Code §4-28- 403(b)
California	2022	\$2 million	Gross revenue	<u>Cal. Gov. Code</u> §12586(e)(1)
Connecticut	2023	\$1 million	Gross revenue	Conn. Public Act 23-98, section 16
Florida	2024	\$1 million	Annual contributions	FL Ch. 496.407 \$500K-\$1m review or audit; under \$500K, optional review or audit
Georgia	2010	\$1 million	Annual contributions	Ga. Code Ann. § 43- 17-5(b)(4) \$500K-\$1m CPA review
Hawaii	2011	\$500,000	Gross revenue (does not include govt grants)	Haw. Rev. Stat. § 174: 467B-6.5(b)
Illinois	2024	\$500,000	Annual contributions	225 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 460/4 \$300k-\$500K financial statement
Indiana			Examination required for certain circumstances for use of public money	Indiana Code § 5- 11-1-9
Kansas	2012	\$500,000	Annual contributions	Kan. Stat. Ann. § 17-1763(c)
Louisiana			Certain circumstances if receiving state funds	La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 24:513(J)(1)(c)
Maryland	2021	\$750,000	Annual contributions	MD Solicitations Act §6-402 (b)(7) \$300K-\$750K review or audit

Massachusetts		\$500,000	Gross annual	Mass. Gen. Laws ch.
			support	12, § 8F \$200K-
				\$500K review or
				audit
Michigan	2011	\$500,000	Annual	Mich. Comp. Laws §
			contributions	400.273 Sec 3(2)(j)
				\$250K-\$500K
				review or audit
Minnesota	2011	\$750,000		Minn. Stat. §
				<u>11.309.53(3)</u>
Mississippi	2023	\$750,000	Monetary	Miss. Code Ann. §
			donations	<u>79-11-507</u>
New Hampshire		\$2 million	Revenue	N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann.
				§ 7:28(III-b)
New Jersey	2022	\$1 million	Revenue	N.J. P.L. 2021 c. 381
New York		\$1 million	Gross revenue	N.Y. EXC. Law 7A §
New York		φ±1111111011	Gross revenue	172-b
				\$200K-\$1m review
Pennsylvania	2017	\$750,000	Annual	10 Pa. Cons. Stat.
remisyrvama	2017	7730,000	contributions	§162.5 (f) \$250K-
			Contributions	\$750 review or
				audit; \$100K-250K
				compilation, review
				or audit.
				HB 1824 Bill
				introduced to
				change to \$1 million
				for audit; \$500,000-
				\$1 million review or
				audit; \$150,000-
				\$500,000
				compilation, review
				or audit; under
				\$150,000 optional
				compilation, audit
				or review
Tennessee	2024	\$ 1 million	Gross revenue	Tenn. Code Ann. §
				48-101-506(b)(2)
Virgina	2024	\$1.5 million	Gross revenue	Va. Code Ann. §
<u>-</u>				58.1-609.11(C)(4)
				\$750K-\$1m review
Washington	2021	\$1 million	Gross revenue	Wash. Rev. Code §
<b>5</b>		,		434-120- 107
West Virginia	2018	\$500,000	Annual	W. Va. Code § 29-
J			contributions	19-5(a)(6)(A)-(B)
				\$300K-\$500K
				review
	2018	\$500,000	Annual	Wis. Stat. § 202.12
Wisconsin	1 2019	1 3300.000	i Alliuai	WIS. Stat. 9 707.17
Wisconsin	2018	3500,000	contributions	\$300K-\$500K

Alabama

Arizona

Colorado

Delaware

District of Columbia

Idaho

Iowa

Kentucky

Maine

Missouri

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada

North Carolina

North Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

South Carolina

Texas

Utah

Vermont

The Alliance for Nonprofit Impact at United Way supports increasing the revenue threshold at which the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation (DBR) requires the submission of an independent audit for charitable solicitation registration.

Currently, R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-53.1-4 requires charitable organizations with annual gross income of \$500,000 or more to submit an independent audit when submitting their annual charitable solicitation registration. This threshold was established in 1999 (PL 1999, ch.152, Sec. 2).

Complying with the current regulations requires organizations to spend approximately \$10,000-\$15,000 of their \$500,000 revenue to contract for an independent audit, which is a significant outlay of funds that are not available for delivering essential programs and services. This is especially difficult when post-pandemic inflation has increased expenses significantly and has already caused 14% of nonprofit respondents to a 2023 survey to cancel or reduce programs and services. Eight percent have experienced increased borrowing costs, and 6% have had to reduce salaries or benefits to cut costs. In addition, Rhode Island has a limited pool of accountants doing nonprofit audits, and some nonprofits struggle even to find a firm to do their audit.

The federal government recently increased the level at which a Single Audit is required. As of October 1, 2024, according to the 2024 Uniform Guidance, "In support of objective (2)-reducing agency and recipient burden—OMB increased several monetary thresholds that have not been updated for many years. For example, OMB increased the single audit threshold from \$750,000 to \$1,000,000."

The Rhode Island state \$500,000 threshold has remained unchanged for 25 years, is not indexed to inflation, is now among the lowest state thresholds in the country, and should be indexed to the federal standard.

Importantly, raising the mandatory audit threshold does not mean every affected organization will automatically stop having an audit, and many will continue to do so. Other funders or contractors may require them, and many organizations voluntarily engage an independent audit as a standard practice. Many will also seek external input through a less expensive independent CPA financial review.

Furthermore, nonprofits will continue to submit IRS Form 990 filings with their charitable solicitation registration, which provides valuable financial and governance data for DBR. The DBR director would continue to have the authority to request an audited financial statement or other information from an organization whose gross receipts are below the mandatory threshold.

To safeguard against fraud and uphold the highest standards of transparency, ethics and accountability, the Alliance regularly and strongly encourages nonprofits who do not have a full audit to consider a CPA review, and to confer with a knowledgeable attorney or accountant to guide their decision-making. With the high cost of a standard audit, we believe raising the mandatory audit threshold will provide immediate relief and much-needed flexibility and a wider range of responsible options for non-profits to choose from.

According to Brown University's Community-Engaged Data and Evaluation Collaborative, there are 206 nonprofits in Rhode Island whose revenue is between \$500,000 and \$1 million, who would be affected by increasing the audit threshold to \$1 million. There are 546 RI nonprofits whose revenue is over \$1 million and would continue to require audits.

By way of comparison, 23 states have no audit requirements for nonprofits. The IRS similarly has no audit requirement, although the detailed information required in the 990 filing is made available to the public. The threshold for federal agencies requiring a single audit is based on total federal funding received and is not tied to gross revenue or other sources of funding.

The lowest state threshold is \$500,000, shared by several states, although Rhode Island's statute is significantly older than other peer states.

Other Northeast states have the following audit thresholds:

Maine No requirement

State	Date	Amount	Qualifier	Notes
Alaska	2018	\$750,000	Receiving state funding, based on expenses	Alaska Admin. Code 2.45.010
Arkansas		\$500,000	Gross revenue	Ark. Code §4-28- 403(b)
California	2022	\$2 million	Gross revenue	<u>Cal. Gov. Code</u> §12586(e)(1)
Connecticut	2023	\$1 million	Gross revenue	Conn. Public Act 23-98, section 16
Florida	2024	\$1 million	Annual contributions	FL Ch. 496.407 \$500K-\$1m review or audit; under \$500K, optional review or audit
Georgia	2010	\$1 million	Annual contributions	Ga. Code Ann. § 43- 17-5(b)(4) \$500K-\$1m CPA review
Hawaii	2011	\$500,000	Gross revenue (does not include govt grants)	Haw. Rev. Stat. § 174: 467B-6.5(b)
Illinois	2024	\$500,000	Annual contributions	225 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 460/4 \$300k-\$500K financial statement
Indiana			Examination required for certain circumstances for use of public money	Indiana Code § 5- 11-1-9
Kansas	2012	\$500,000	Annual contributions	Kan. Stat. Ann. § 17-1763(c)
Louisiana			Certain circumstances if receiving state funds	La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 24:513(J)(1)(c)
Maryland	2021	\$750,000	Annual contributions	MD Solicitations Act §6-402 (b)(7) \$300K-\$750K review or audit

Massachusetts		\$500,000	Gross annual	Mass. Gen. Laws ch.
			support	12, § 8F \$200K-
				\$500K review or
				audit
Michigan	2011	\$500,000	Annual	Mich. Comp. Laws §
			contributions	400.273 Sec 3(2)(j)
				\$250K-\$500K
				review or audit
Minnesota	2011	\$750,000		Minn. Stat. §
				<u>11.309.53(3)</u>
Mississippi	2023	\$750,000	Monetary	Miss. Code Ann. §
			donations	<u>79-11-507</u>
New Hampshire		\$2 million	Revenue	N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann.
				§ 7:28(III-b)
New Jersey	2022	\$1 million	Revenue	N.J. P.L. 2021 c. 381
New York		\$1 million	Gross revenue	N.Y. EXC. Law 7A §
New York		φ±1111111011	Gross revenue	172-b
				\$200K-\$1m review
Pennsylvania	2017	\$750,000	Annual	10 Pa. Cons. Stat.
remisyrvama	2017	7730,000	contributions	§162.5 (f) \$250K-
			Contributions	\$750 review or
				audit; \$100K-250K
				compilation, review
				or audit.
				HB 1824 Bill
				introduced to
				change to \$1 million
				for audit; \$500,000-
				\$1 million review or
				audit; \$150,000-
				\$500,000
				compilation, review
				or audit; under
				\$150,000 optional
				compilation, audit
				or review
Tennessee	2024	\$ 1 million	Gross revenue	Tenn. Code Ann. §
				48-101-506(b)(2)
Virgina	2024	\$1.5 million	Gross revenue	Va. Code Ann. §
<u>-</u>				58.1-609.11(C)(4)
				\$750K-\$1m review
Washington	2021	\$1 million	Gross revenue	Wash. Rev. Code §
<b>5</b>		,		434-120- 107
West Virginia	2018	\$500,000	Annual	W. Va. Code § 29-
J			contributions	19-5(a)(6)(A)-(B)
				\$300K-\$500K
				review
	2018	\$500,000	Annual	Wis. Stat. § 202.12
Wisconsin	1 2019	1 3300.000	i Alliuai	WIS. Stat. 9 707.17
Wisconsin	2018	3500,000	contributions	\$300K-\$500K

Alabama

Arizona

Colorado

Delaware

District of Columbia

Idaho

Iowa

Kentucky

Maine

Missouri

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada

North Carolina

North Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

South Carolina

Texas

Utah

Vermont

The Alliance for Nonprofit Impact at United Way supports increasing the revenue threshold at which the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation (DBR) requires the submission of an independent audit for charitable solicitation registration.

Currently, R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-53.1-4 requires charitable organizations with annual gross income of \$500,000 or more to submit an independent audit when submitting their annual charitable solicitation registration. This threshold was established in 1999 (PL 1999, ch.152, Sec. 2).

Complying with the current regulations requires organizations to spend approximately \$10,000-\$15,000 of their \$500,000 revenue to contract for an independent audit, which is a significant outlay of funds that are not available for delivering essential programs and services. This is especially difficult when post-pandemic inflation has increased expenses significantly and has already caused 14% of nonprofit respondents to a 2023 survey to cancel or reduce programs and services. Eight percent have experienced increased borrowing costs, and 6% have had to reduce salaries or benefits to cut costs. In addition, Rhode Island has a limited pool of accountants doing nonprofit audits, and some nonprofits struggle even to find a firm to do their audit.

The federal government recently increased the level at which a Single Audit is required. As of October 1, 2024, according to the 2024 Uniform Guidance, "In support of objective (2)-reducing agency and recipient burden—OMB increased several monetary thresholds that have not been updated for many years. For example, OMB increased the single audit threshold from \$750,000 to \$1,000,000."

The Rhode Island state \$500,000 threshold has remained unchanged for 25 years, is not indexed to inflation, is now among the lowest state thresholds in the country, and should be indexed to the federal standard.

Importantly, raising the mandatory audit threshold does not mean every affected organization will automatically stop having an audit, and many will continue to do so. Other funders or contractors may require them, and many organizations voluntarily engage an independent audit as a standard practice. Many will also seek external input through a less expensive independent CPA financial review.

Furthermore, nonprofits will continue to submit IRS Form 990 filings with their charitable solicitation registration, which provides valuable financial and governance data for DBR. The DBR director would continue to have the authority to request an audited financial statement or other information from an organization whose gross receipts are below the mandatory threshold.

To safeguard against fraud and uphold the highest standards of transparency, ethics and accountability, the Alliance regularly and strongly encourages nonprofits who do not have a full audit to consider a CPA review, and to confer with a knowledgeable attorney or accountant to guide their decision-making. With the high cost of a standard audit, we believe raising the mandatory audit threshold will provide immediate relief and much-needed flexibility and a wider range of responsible options for non-profits to choose from.

According to Brown University's Community-Engaged Data and Evaluation Collaborative, there are 206 nonprofits in Rhode Island whose revenue is between \$500,000 and \$1 million, who would be affected by increasing the audit threshold to \$1 million. There are 546 RI nonprofits whose revenue is over \$1 million and would continue to require audits.

By way of comparison, 23 states have no audit requirements for nonprofits. The IRS similarly has no audit requirement, although the detailed information required in the 990 filing is made available to the public. The threshold for federal agencies requiring a single audit is based on total federal funding received and is not tied to gross revenue or other sources of funding.

The lowest state threshold is \$500,000, shared by several states, although Rhode Island's statute is significantly older than other peer states.

Other Northeast states have the following audit thresholds:

Maine No requirement

State	Date	Amount	Qualifier	Notes
Alaska	2018	\$750,000	Receiving state funding, based on expenses	Alaska Admin. Code 2.45.010
Arkansas		\$500,000	Gross revenue	Ark. Code §4-28- 403(b)
California	2022	\$2 million	Gross revenue	<u>Cal. Gov. Code</u> §12586(e)(1)
Connecticut	2023	\$1 million	Gross revenue	Conn. Public Act 23-98, section 16
Florida	2024	\$1 million	Annual contributions	FL Ch. 496.407 \$500K-\$1m review or audit; under \$500K, optional review or audit
Georgia	2010	\$1 million	Annual contributions	Ga. Code Ann. § 43- 17-5(b)(4) \$500K-\$1m CPA review
Hawaii	2011	\$500,000	Gross revenue (does not include govt grants)	Haw. Rev. Stat. § 174: 467B-6.5(b)
Illinois	2024	\$500,000	Annual contributions	225 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 460/4 \$300k-\$500K financial statement
Indiana			Examination required for certain circumstances for use of public money	Indiana Code § 5- 11-1-9
Kansas	2012	\$500,000	Annual contributions	Kan. Stat. Ann. § 17-1763(c)
Louisiana			Certain circumstances if receiving state funds	La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 24:513(J)(1)(c)
Maryland	2021	\$750,000	Annual contributions	MD Solicitations Act §6-402 (b)(7) \$300K-\$750K review or audit

Massachusetts		\$500,000	Gross annual	Mass. Gen. Laws ch.
			support	12, § 8F \$200K-
				\$500K review or
				audit
Michigan	2011	\$500,000	Annual	Mich. Comp. Laws §
			contributions	400.273 Sec 3(2)(j)
				\$250K-\$500K
				review or audit
Minnesota	2011	\$750,000		Minn. Stat. §
				<u>11.309.53(3)</u>
Mississippi	2023	\$750,000	Monetary	Miss. Code Ann. §
			donations	<u>79-11-507</u>
New Hampshire		\$2 million	Revenue	N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann.
				§ 7:28(III-b)
New Jersey	2022	\$1 million	Revenue	N.J. P.L. 2021 c. 381
New York		\$1 million	Gross revenue	N.Y. EXC. Law 7A §
New York		φ±1111111011	Gross revenue	172-b
				\$200K-\$1m review
Pennsylvania	2017	\$750,000	Annual	10 Pa. Cons. Stat.
remisyrvama	2017	7730,000	contributions	§162.5 (f) \$250K-
			Contributions	\$750 review or
				audit; \$100K-250K
				compilation, review
				or audit.
				HB 1824 Bill
				introduced to
				change to \$1 million
				for audit; \$500,000-
				\$1 million review or
				audit; \$150,000-
				\$500,000
				compilation, review
				or audit; under
				\$150,000 optional
				compilation, audit
				or review
Tennessee	2024	\$ 1 million	Gross revenue	Tenn. Code Ann. §
				48-101-506(b)(2)
Virgina	2024	\$1.5 million	Gross revenue	Va. Code Ann. §
<u>-</u>				58.1-609.11(C)(4)
				\$750K-\$1m review
Washington	2021	\$1 million	Gross revenue	Wash. Rev. Code §
<b>5</b>		,		434-120- 107
West Virginia	2018	\$500,000	Annual	W. Va. Code § 29-
J			contributions	19-5(a)(6)(A)-(B)
				\$300K-\$500K
				review
	2018	\$500,000	Annual	Wis. Stat. § 202.12
Wisconsin	1 2019	1 3300.000	i Alliuai	WIS. Stat. 9 707.17
Wisconsin	2018	3500,000	contributions	\$300K-\$500K

Alabama

Arizona

Colorado

Delaware

District of Columbia

Idaho

Iowa

Kentucky

Maine

Missouri

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada

North Carolina

North Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

South Carolina

Texas

Utah

Vermont

The Alliance for Nonprofit Impact at United Way supports increasing the revenue threshold at which the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation (DBR) requires the submission of an independent audit for charitable solicitation registration.

Currently, R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-53.1-4 requires charitable organizations with annual gross income of \$500,000 or more to submit an independent audit when submitting their annual charitable solicitation registration. This threshold was established in 1999 (PL 1999, ch.152, Sec. 2).

Complying with the current regulations requires organizations to spend approximately \$10,000-\$15,000 of their \$500,000 revenue to contract for an independent audit, which is a significant outlay of funds that are not available for delivering essential programs and services. This is especially difficult when post-pandemic inflation has increased expenses significantly and has already caused 14% of nonprofit respondents to a 2023 survey to cancel or reduce programs and services. Eight percent have experienced increased borrowing costs, and 6% have had to reduce salaries or benefits to cut costs. In addition, Rhode Island has a limited pool of accountants doing nonprofit audits, and some nonprofits struggle even to find a firm to do their audit.

The federal government recently increased the level at which a Single Audit is required. As of October 1, 2024, according to the 2024 Uniform Guidance, "In support of objective (2)-reducing agency and recipient burden—OMB increased several monetary thresholds that have not been updated for many years. For example, OMB increased the single audit threshold from \$750,000 to \$1,000,000."

The Rhode Island state \$500,000 threshold has remained unchanged for 25 years, is not indexed to inflation, is now among the lowest state thresholds in the country, and should be indexed to the federal standard.

Importantly, raising the mandatory audit threshold does not mean every affected organization will automatically stop having an audit, and many will continue to do so. Other funders or contractors may require them, and many organizations voluntarily engage an independent audit as a standard practice. Many will also seek external input through a less expensive independent CPA financial review.

Furthermore, nonprofits will continue to submit IRS Form 990 filings with their charitable solicitation registration, which provides valuable financial and governance data for DBR. The DBR director would continue to have the authority to request an audited financial statement or other information from an organization whose gross receipts are below the mandatory threshold.

To safeguard against fraud and uphold the highest standards of transparency, ethics and accountability, the Alliance regularly and strongly encourages nonprofits who do not have a full audit to consider a CPA review, and to confer with a knowledgeable attorney or accountant to guide their decision-making. With the high cost of a standard audit, we believe raising the mandatory audit threshold will provide immediate relief and much-needed flexibility and a wider range of responsible options for non-profits to choose from.

According to Brown University's Community-Engaged Data and Evaluation Collaborative, there are 206 nonprofits in Rhode Island whose revenue is between \$500,000 and \$1 million, who would be affected by increasing the audit threshold to \$1 million. There are 546 RI nonprofits whose revenue is over \$1 million and would continue to require audits.

By way of comparison, 23 states have no audit requirements for nonprofits. The IRS similarly has no audit requirement, although the detailed information required in the 990 filing is made available to the public. The threshold for federal agencies requiring a single audit is based on total federal funding received and is not tied to gross revenue or other sources of funding.

The lowest state threshold is \$500,000, shared by several states, although Rhode Island's statute is significantly older than other peer states.

Other Northeast states have the following audit thresholds:

Maine No requirement

State	Date	Amount	Qualifier	Notes
Alaska	2018	\$750,000	Receiving state funding, based on expenses	Alaska Admin. Code 2.45.010
Arkansas		\$500,000	Gross revenue	Ark. Code §4-28- 403(b)
California	2022	\$2 million	Gross revenue	<u>Cal. Gov. Code</u> §12586(e)(1)
Connecticut	2023	\$1 million	Gross revenue	Conn. Public Act 23-98, section 16
Florida	2024	\$1 million	Annual contributions	FL Ch. 496.407 \$500K-\$1m review or audit; under \$500K, optional review or audit
Georgia	2010	\$1 million	Annual contributions	Ga. Code Ann. § 43- 17-5(b)(4) \$500K-\$1m CPA review
Hawaii	2011	\$500,000	Gross revenue (does not include govt grants)	Haw. Rev. Stat. § 174: 467B-6.5(b)
Illinois	2024	\$500,000	Annual contributions	225 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 460/4 \$300k-\$500K financial statement
Indiana			Examination required for certain circumstances for use of public money	Indiana Code § 5- 11-1-9
Kansas	2012	\$500,000	Annual contributions	Kan. Stat. Ann. § 17-1763(c)
Louisiana			Certain circumstances if receiving state funds	La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 24:513(J)(1)(c)
Maryland	2021	\$750,000	Annual contributions	MD Solicitations Act §6-402 (b)(7) \$300K-\$750K review or audit

Massachusetts		\$500,000	Gross annual	Mass. Gen. Laws ch.
			support	12, § 8F \$200K-
				\$500K review or
				audit
Michigan	2011	\$500,000	Annual	Mich. Comp. Laws §
			contributions	400.273 Sec 3(2)(j)
				\$250K-\$500K
				review or audit
Minnesota	2011	\$750,000		Minn. Stat. §
				<u>11.309.53(3)</u>
Mississippi	2023	\$750,000	Monetary	Miss. Code Ann. §
			donations	<u>79-11-507</u>
New Hampshire		\$2 million	Revenue	N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann.
				§ 7:28(III-b)
New Jersey	2022	\$1 million	Revenue	N.J. P.L. 2021 c. 381
New York		\$1 million	Gross revenue	N.Y. EXC. Law 7A §
New York		φ±1111111011	Gross revenue	172-b
				\$200K-\$1m review
Pennsylvania	2017	\$750,000	Annual	10 Pa. Cons. Stat.
remisyrvama	2017	7730,000	contributions	§162.5 (f) \$250K-
			Contributions	\$750 review or
				audit; \$100K-250K
				compilation, review
				or audit.
				HB 1824 Bill
				introduced to
				change to \$1 million
				for audit; \$500,000-
				\$1 million review or
				audit; \$150,000-
				\$500,000
				compilation, review
				or audit; under
				\$150,000 optional
				compilation, audit
				or review
Tennessee	2024	\$ 1 million	Gross revenue	Tenn. Code Ann. §
				48-101-506(b)(2)
Virgina	2024	\$1.5 million	Gross revenue	Va. Code Ann. §
<u>-</u>				58.1-609.11(C)(4)
				\$750K-\$1m review
Washington	2021	\$1 million	Gross revenue	Wash. Rev. Code §
<b>5</b>		,		434-120- 107
West Virginia	2018	\$500,000	Annual	W. Va. Code § 29-
J			contributions	19-5(a)(6)(A)-(B)
				\$300K-\$500K
				review
	2018	\$500,000	Annual	Wis. Stat. § 202.12
Wisconsin	1 2019	1 3300.000	i Alliuai	WIS. Stat. 9 707.17
Wisconsin	2018	3500,000	contributions	\$300K-\$500K

Alabama

Arizona

Colorado

Delaware

District of Columbia

Idaho

Iowa

Kentucky

Maine

Missouri

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada

North Carolina

North Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

South Carolina

Texas

Utah

Vermont