Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
News : Recent Press Releases     Op-Ed     Publications     About the Legislative Press Bureau Printer Friendly View
1/1/2019 Sen. Murray sworn in as General Assembly convenes
STATE HOUSE — Sen.  Melissa Murray (D-Dist. 24, Woonsocket, North Smithfield) was formally sworn into office Tuesday, Jan. 1, as the 2019-20 session of the Rhode Island General Assembly convened.

Senator Murray was one of seven new members of the Senate who took the oath of office, which was administered to all 38 Senate members by Rhode Island Secretary of State Nellie Gorbea.

The Senate began its legislative year with a program of activities that included the re-election of Sen. Dominick Ruggerio as President of the Senate. Elected to the post in March 2017, President Ruggerio began his first full two-year term today with an address to the Senate members and other assembled officials and guests.

Senator Murray previously served as an at-large member of the Woonsocket City Council for five years, and is vice chairwoman and Promotions Committee chairwoman of the Downtown Woonsocket Collaborative. She is a small business owner and a retail consultant.

For more information, contact:
Meredyth R. Whitty, Publicist
State House Room 20
Providence, RI 02903
(401) 222-1923