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Executive Director/State Budget Officer
Date: March 4, 2010

Subject: Revised Article 25 for FY 2011 Appropriations Act (10-H-7397)

The Governor requests Article 25 of the FY 2011 Appropriations Act entitled
“Relating to Division of Motor Vehicle Fees” be replaced with the attached version.
The revised version adds section 3-8-6.1 to the article, which provides for
identification cards for persons under the age of 21, and increases fees from $15.00 to
$25.00 consistent with section 3-8-6. The $335,000 revenue estimate from the $10.00
fee increase from $15.00 to $25.00 included revenues identification cards issued to
persons under the age of 21.

The revised article also eliminates new underlined language in section 3-8-6(b)(8),
which provides that a permanently or totally disabled person formerly holding a
driver’s license would not be charged for renewal of a Rhode Island identification card.
The Governor’s Commission on Disabilities requested the amendment so that
individuals who in the past held a driver’s license with an identification card seeking a
renewal are not charged the renewal fee while disabled persons who never held a
driver’s license requesting an identification card for the first time are charged the fee.
Eliminating the new underlined language has the effect of treating all disabled
individuals equitably.
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If you have any questions regarding the new article, please feel free to call me at 222-
6300.

TAM:sm 10-20
Attachment
cc: Representative Robert A. Watson
Senator Dennis L. Algiere
Sharon Reynolds Ferland
Peter Marino
Tim Costa
Michael Cronan
Karen DiLauro
Gregory Stack



ARTICLE 25 (Revised 3/3/10)
RELATING TO DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES FEES
SECTION 1. Sections 3-8-6 and 3-8-6.1 of the General Laws in Chapter 3-8 entitled
“Regulation of Sales™ are hereby amended to read as follows:

§ 3-86 Unlawful drinking and misrepresentation by underage persons —

Identification cards for persons twenty-one and older. — (a) It is unlawful for:

(1) A person who has not reached his or her twenty-first (21st) birthday to enter any
premises licensed for the retail sale of alcoholic beverages for the purpose of purchasing or
having served or delivered to him or her alcoholic beverages; or

(2) A person who has not reached his or her twenty-first (21st) birthday to consume any
alcoholic beverage on premises licensed for the retail sale of alcoholic beverages or to purchase,
attempt to purchase, or have another purchase for him or her any alcoholic beverage; or

(3) A person to misrepresent or misstate his or her age, or the age of any other persons, or
to misrepresent his or her age through the presentation of any of the following documents:

(i) An armed service identification card, valid passport, the identification card license, or
any other documentation used for identification purposes that may belong to any other person
who is twenty-one (21) years or older;

(i) A motor vehicle operator's license which bears the date of birth of the licensee, and
which is issued by this state or any other state;

(iii) A Rhode Island identification card as defined in subsection (b) for the purpose of
inducing any licensee or any employee of any licensee, to sell, serve or deliver any alcoholic
beverage to a minor.

(b) The administrator of the division of motor vehicles shall issue to any person who has

reached his or her twenty-first (21st) birthday a Rhode Island identification card upon payment of

a fee of fifteen doHars($15) twenty five dollars ($25), and, upon presentation of a certified birth

or baptismal certificate, or U.S. or foreign passport, or U.S. naturalization certificate or a valid



immigrant or refugee document issued by the United States immigration and naturalization
service, including, but not limited to, any one of the following: Form I-551, Form I-94, Form I-
688A, and Form 1-688, together with a document bearing the applicant's signature.

(2) A person who has reached his or her fifty ninth (59th) birthday is not required to pay
the fee.

(3) Each registration card shall be subject to renewal every five (5) years upon payment

of a fee of fifteen-doHars($15) twenty five dollars ($25).

(4) No person who holds an operator's license issued by this state or any other state shall

be issued a Rhode Island identification card.

(5) The identification card shall be signed by the administrator of the division of motor
vehicles and by the applicant and his or her picture shall appear on the card along with the
required information and the card shall be encased in laminated plastic. The card shall be two
inches (2") in height and four inches (4") in length and shall be printed in the following form:

RHODE ISLAND IDENTIFICATION CARD
Date Issued No.. ... ..
First Name Middle Name Last Name

)

Address

)

BIRTH RECORD

Month Day. . ... ... .. Year. . . ... ...
Secure Color Color Sex Ht. Wt.

Photo of hair of eyes

by Pasting

Issued by



Administrator of the Division of Motor Vehicles
Administrator

(6) The identification cards shall be produced at the adult correctional institutions if they
have facilities to do so; if the adult correctional institutions have no facilities to do so, then all
cards shall be manufactured by the lowest responsible bidder following advertisement for the
solicitation of bids.

(7) The identification cards shall be clearly distinguishable from those issued pursuant to
§ 3-8-6.1 and operators' and chauffeurs' licenses issued pursuant to title 31.

(8) Any person who has been designated as permanently and totally disabled by the social
security administration or who upon certification by an optometrist, ophthalmologist or physician
that a holder of a valid and current motor vehicle operator's license is no longer able to operate a
motor vehicle, the administrator of the division of motor vehicles shall issue to such person, upon
request, a Rhode Island identification card for the unexpired term of such person's motor vehicle
operator's license at no additional cost. Thereafter, a renewal of such card shall be subject to the

standard renewal charge of fifteen-doHars<($15) twenty
reach his or her fifty-ninth (59th) birthday.

—five dollars ($25) until such person shall

(c)(1) Every retail Class A, B, C, and D licensee shall cause to be kept a book or
photographic reproduction equipment which provides the same information as required by the
book. That licensee and/or the licensee's employee shall require any person who has shown a
document as set forth in this section substantiating his or her age to sign that book or to permit the
taking of his or her photograph and indicate what document was presented. Use of the
photographic reproduction equipment is voluntary for every Class A, B, C and D licensee.

(2) The sign-in as minor book and photographic reproduction equipment shall be
prescribed, published, and approved at the direction and control of the division. The book shall
contain at least four hundred (400) pages, shall be uniform throughout the state, and shall be

distributed at a cost not to exceed seven dollars ($7).



(3) If a person whose age is in question signs the sign-in as minor book or has a
photograph taken before he or she is sold any alcoholic beverage and it is later determined that
the person had not reached his or her twenty-first (21st) birthday at the time of sale, it is
considered prima facie evidence that the licensee and/or the licensee's agent or servant acted in
good faith in selling any alcoholic beverage to the person producing the document as set forth in
this section misrepresenting his or her age.

(4) Proof of good faith reliance on any misrepresentation is a defense to the prosecution
of the licensee and/or the licensee's agent or servant for an alleged violation of this section.

(d)(1) Any person who violates this section shall be punished for the first offense by a
mandatory fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100) nor more than five hundred dollars
($500) and shall be further punished by thirty (30) hours of community service and shall be
further punished by a suspension of his or her motor vehicle operator's license or driving
privileges for a period of thirty (30) days; for the second offense by a mandatory fine of not less
than five hundred dollars ($500) nor more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750) and shall be
further punished by forty (40) hours of community service and will be further punished by a
suspension of his or her motor vehicle operator's license or driving privileges for a period of three
(3) months; and for the third and subsequent offenses by a mandatory fine for each offense of not
less than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) and shall
be further punished by fifty (50) hours of community service and will be further punished by a
suspension of his or her motor vehicle operator's license or driving privileges for a period of one
year.

(2) Any suspension of an operator's license or driving privilege pursuant to this section
shall not operate to affect the insurance rating of the offender and any operator's license or
driving privilege suspended pursuant to this section shall be reinstated without further expense

upon application.



(e) Within thirty (30) days after this incident the police chief of the city or town where
the incident took place is directed to inform, in writing, the department of business regulation
whether or not charges in accordance with this section have been preferred against a person who
has not reached his or her twenty-first (21st) birthday and has violated this section. If no charge is
brought against any person who has not reached his or her twenty-first (21st) birthday and has
violated the provisions of this section, then the police chief of the city or town where the incident
took place will state the reason for his or her failure to charge the person who has not reached his
or her twenty-first (21st) birthday.

(f) The Rhode Island identification card may be withdrawn at any time for just cause, at
the discretion of the administrator of the division of motor vehicles. The administrator of the
division of motor vehicles shall keep a record of the cards issued and each card shall contain an
identification number specifically assigned to the person to whom the card was issued.

§ 3-8-6.1 Identification cards for persons under the age of 21. — (a) The administrator

of the division of motor vehicles shall issue to any person upon request, who is under twenty-one

(21) years of age, an identification card upon payment of a fee of fifteen-dollars($15.00) twenty-

five dollars ($25.00), and, upon presentation of a certified birth or baptismal certificate, or U.S. or

foreign passport, or U.S. naturalization certificate, or a valid immigrant or refugee document
issued by the United States immigration and naturalization service including, but not limited to,
document bearing the applicant's signature. No person who holds an operator's license, issued by
this state or any other state, shall be issued an identification card.

(2) The identification card shall be subject to renewal every five (5) years upon the
payment of a fee of fifieen-dolars-($15-00) twenty-five dollars ($25.00).

(3) The identification card shall be signed by the administrator of the division of motor

vehicles and also by the applicant, and his or her picture shall appear on the card along with the



required information and the card shall be encased in laminated plastic. The card shall be two
inches (21 in height and four inches (4") in length and shall be printed in the following form:
_ IDENTIFICATION CARD
Date Issued No. . . . ...
_First Name Middle Name Last Name
)
Address
3
BIRTH RECORD

" Secure Color Color Sex Ht. Wt.
Photo of hair of eyes

by Pasting

Issued by
Administrator of the Division of Motor Vehicles
Administrator
(4) The identification cards shall be produced at the adult correctional institution if they
have facilities to do so; if the adult correctional institutions have no facilities to do so, then all
cards shall be manufactured by the lowest responsible bidder following advertisement for the
solicitation of bids.
() The identification cards shall be clearly distinguishable from those issued pursuant to
§ 3-8-6 and operators' and chauffeurs' licenses issued pursuant to title 31.
(b) The identification card may be withdrawn at any time for just cause, at the discretion

of the administrator of the division of motor vehicles. The administrator of the division of motor



vehicles shall keep a record of the cards issued and each card shall contain an identification
number specifically assigned to the person to whom the card was issued.

SECTION 2. Sections 31-3-53 and 31-3-62 of the General Laws in Chapter 31-3 entitled
“Registration of Vehicles” are hereby amended to read as follows:

§ 31-3-53 Veterans' plates. — (a) The registrar of motor vehicles shall issue for any

motor vehicle eligible for registration as an automobile, or for any motorcycle eligible for
registration as a motorcycle, or for a commercial vehicle having a gross weight of ten thousand
one pounds (10,001 Ibs.) or less, plates designated as "Veteran", "Purple Heart", and "Ex-POW"
upon application on proper forms furnished by the administrator of the division of motor vehicles
to veterans. Gold Star parents shall also be eligible for plates designated as "Veteran".

(b) The special plate designated "Veteran" shall be designed as follows;

(1) Letters and numbers shall be blue in a white background with the words "Rhode
Island" clearly visible at the top center of the plate and the word "Veteran" visible at the bottom
center of the plate.

(2) The background will be a red, white and blue waving American Flag.

(3) On the top right corner will be a decal with the military branch of the service in which
the Veteran served (Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, Coast Guard, Merchant Marines, and Gold
Star Parent).

(4) For war veterans a white decal with blue letters with the words "War Veteran" placed

under the military branch decal on the right side of the plate above the validation sticker.
(c) The applicant shall be required to pay a service charge of twenty-deHars($20) ten

dollars ($10) and-atransfercharge-of five-doHars($5) for the order of each set of plates.

(d) The applicant shall be entitled to a plate for each vehicle owned by the applicant upon

payment of an additional service charge and/or transfer charge for each vehicle.
(e) The owner of a motor vehicle eligible for registration as a commercial vehicle and

having a gross weight of ten thousand one pounds (10,001 1bs.) or less that is issued veteran



plates shall continue to pay the appropriate commercial registration fee for those plates. The
owner of a motor vehicle eligible for registration as a commercial vehicle having a gross weight
of six thousand three hundred pounds (6,300 Ibs.) but not more than ten thousand one pounds
(10,001 1bs.) shall sign an affidavit at the time of application for said plates stating that the
vehicle is to be used for personal use only.

(£)(1) For the purposes of this section, a "veteran" shall be defined as any person who has
served on active duty in the armed forces of the United States. The term "veteran" shall also
include members of the National Guard and Reserves: (i) called to active duty authorized by the
President of the United States or the Secretary of Defense; or (ii) who have twenty (20) years of
service with a letter and record of separation of service.

(2) For the purposes of this section "War Veteran" shall be defined as any veteran of any
conflict or undeclared war who has earned a campaign ribbon or expeditionary medal for service
in either a declared or undeclared war as noted on the war veteran's DD-214. Upon the death of
the holder of any veteran plates, the plates shall be transferred to the surviving spouse for the
spouse's lifetime until he or she remarries.

(g) The "veteran" or "war veteran" described in subdivisions (f)(1)(i) or (ii) and (2) must
have been honorably discharged from the armed forces of this nation in order to receive plates
pursuant to this section and, for purposes of this section, a medical discharge or a general
discharge shall be deemed an honorable discharge.

(h) For the purpose of this section, "Gold Star Parent" means a person who has lost a son
or a daughter as a result of service with the armed forces of the United States of America;
provided, the death was determined to be in the line of duty.

(i) Veterans who have served in multiple conflicts are entitled to be issued, veterans'
plates equal to the number of conflicts he or she served in; provided, the plates are limited to the

number of vehicles owned by the veteran.



(3) A person shall be eligible for a veterans' plate if his or her deceased spouse was
eligible for a veterans' plate, notwithstanding the fact that the eligible deceased spouse died prior
to the enactment of this section in 1988.

§ 31-3-62 National guard plates. — (a) The administrator of the division of motor

vehicles is empowered and authorized to make available to all active and retired members of the
Rhode Island army and air national guard a special motor vehicle registration plate for any motor
vehicle eligible for registration as an automobile or a commercial vehicle having a gross weight
of eight thousand-five hundred pounds (8,500 Ibs.) or less.

(b) The special motor vehicle registration plate shall carry on it the designation "National
Guard" and shall also carry on it an emblem on the left-hand side of the plate to be designed and
provided by the office of the adjutant general, with the numerals to the right of it.

(c) The administrator of the division of motor vehicles shall issue the plates upon the

payment of a service charge of twenty dollars ($20) and-a-transfer-charge-of five-doHars($5) for

the order of each set of plates. All revenues shall be deposited as general revenues.

(d) For the purposes of this section an active or retired member of the Rhode Island army
and air national guard shall be defined as any person certified by the adjutant general as currently
serving or having retired under honorable conditions in either the Rhode Island army or air
national guard.

(e) In a state of emergency, any active member of the army or air national guard driving a
vehicle bearing the special motor vehicle registration plate shall be authorized and empowered to
travel upon the highways of the state notwithstanding any driving ban imposed by any state or
municipal authority.

SECTION 3. Section 31-3.1-38 of the General Laws in Chapter 31-3.1 entitled
“Certification of Title and Security Interests” is hereby amended to read as follows:

§ 31-3.1-38 Effective dates — Applicability. — This chapter shall apply to all model

vehicles designated as 1973 2001 models and all subsequent model year vehicles. All vehicles



designated as model years prior to 3973 2001 shall be excluded from these provisions, provided
that no title certificate shall be required once a vehicle is tea-(16) twenty (20) years old.

SECTION 4. Section 31-5-8 of the General Laws in Chapter 31-5 entitled “Dealers’,
Manufacturers’ and Rental Licenses” is hereby amended to read as follows:

§ 31-5-8 License fee. — The license fee for each year shall be as follows: the fee for the

license to each motor vehicle dealer shall be ene-hundred-deHars($106) three hundred dollars

(3300) plus a fee in like amount for each office or branch.
SECTION 5. Section 31-5-22 of the General Laws in Chapter 31-5 entitled “Dealers’,
Manufacturers’, and Rental Licenses” is hereby amended to read as follows:

§ 31-5-22 Application for license — Fee — Expiration. — (a) Any person desiring to be

licensed as a manufacturer, factory representative, or distributor shall apply to the department of
revenue upon a form containing any information that the department shall require. The
department may require with the application or, otherwise, information relating to the applicant's
solvency, his or her financial standing, or other pertinent matter commensurate with the
safeguarding of the public interest, all of which may be considered by the department in
determining the fitness of the applicant to engage in the business for which the applicant desires
the license.

(b) Each application of a factory representative shall be accompanied by a fee of forty
delars($460) one hundred dollars ($100). Each application of a manufacturer or distributor shall

be accompanied by a fee of twe-hundred-doHars($2060) three hundred dollars ($300).

(c) All licenses shall be granted or refused within thirty (30) days after the application is

filed and shall expire, unless revoked or suspended before that time, on December 31st of the
calendar year for which they are granted.
SECTION 6. Section 31-6-1 of the General Laws in Chapter 31-6 entitled “Registration

Fees” is hereby amended to read as follows:



§ 31-6-1 Amount of registration and miscellaneous fees. — (a) The following

registration fees shall be paid to the division of motor vehicles for the registration of motor
vehicles, trailers, semi-trailers, and school buses subject to registration for each year of
registration:

(1) For the registration of every automobile, when equipped with pneumatic tires, the
gross weight of which is not more than four thousand pounds (4,000 1bs.): thirty dollars ($30).

(2) For the registration of every motor truck or tractor when equipped with pneumatic
tires, the gross weight of which is not more than four thousand pounds (4,000 lbs.): thirty-four
dollars ($34).

(3) For the registration of every automobile, motor truck or tractor, when equipped with
pneumatic tires, the gross weight of which is:

(i) More than four thousand pounds (4,000 1bs.), but not more than five thousand pounds
(5,000 1bs.): forty dollars ($40);

(it) More than five thousand pounds (5,000 lbs.), but not more than six thousand pounds
(6,000 Ibs.): forty-eight dollars ($48);

(iii) More than six thousand pounds (6,000 Ibs.), but not more than seven thousand
pounds (7,000 Ibs.): fifty-six dollars ($56);

(iv) More than seven thousand pounds (7,000 Ibs.), but not more than eight thousand
pounds (8,000 Ibs.): sixty-four dollars ($64);

(v) More than eight thousand pounds (8,000 lbs.), but not more than nine thousand
pounds (9,000 Ibs.): seventy dollars ($70);

(vi) More than nine thousand pounds (9,000 1bs.), but not more than ten thousand pounds
(10,000 Ibs.): seventy-eight dollars ($78);

(vii) More than ten thousand pounds (10,000 lbs.), but not more than twelve thousand

pounds (12,000 Ibs.): one hundred six dollars ($106);



(viii) More than twelve thousand pounds (12,000 Ibs.), but not more than fourteen
thousand pounds (14,000 Ibs.): one hundred twenty-four dollars ($124);

(ix) More than fourteen thousand pounds (14,000 lbs.), but not more than sixteen
thousand pounds (16,000 1bs.): one hundred forty dollars ($140);

(x) More than sixteen thousand pounds (16,000 lbs.), but not more than eighteen
thousand pounds (18,000 1bs.): one hundred fifty-eight dollars ($158);

(xi) More than eighteen thousand pounds (18,000 lbs.), but not more than twenty
thousand pounds (20,000 Ibs.): one hundred seventy-six dollars ($176);

(xii) More than twenty thousand pounds (20,000 1bs.), but not more than twenty-two
thousand pounds (22,000 1bs.): one hundred ninety-four dollars ($194);

(xiii) More than twenty-two thousand pounds (22,000 lbs.), but not more than twenty-
four thousand pounds (24,000 Ibs.): two hundred ten dollars ($210);

(xiv) More than twenty-four thousand pounds (24,000 Ibs.), but not more than twenty-six
thousand pounds (26,000 1bs.): two hundred thirty dollars ($230);

(xv) More than twenty-six thousand pounds (26,000 Ibs.), but not more than twenty-eight
thousand pounds (28,000 1bs.): two hundred ninety-six dollars ($296);

(xvi) More than twenty-eight thousand pounds (28,000 Ibs.), but not more than thirty
thousand pounds (30,000 Ibs.): three hundred sixteen dollars ($316);

(xvii) More than thirty thousand pounds (30,000 Ibs.), but not more than thirty-two
thousand pounds (32,000 Ibs.): four hundred and twenty-two dollars ($422);

(xviii) More than thirty-two thousand pounds (32,000 Ibs.), but not more than thirty-four
thousand pounds (34,000 1bs.): four hundred and forty-eight dollars ($448);

(xix) More than thirty-four thousand pounds (34,000 Ibs.), but not more than thirty-six
thousand pounds (36,000 Ibs.): four hundred and seventy-six dollars ($476);

(xx) More than thirty-six thousand pounds (36,000 Ibs.), but not more than thirty-eight

thousand pounds (38,000 Ibs.): five hundred and two dollars ($502);



(xxi) More than thirty-eight thousand pounds (38,000 Ibs.), but not more than forty
thousand pounds (40,000 Ibs.): five hundred and twenty-eight dollars ($528);

(xxii) More than forty thousand pounds (40,000 Ibs.), but not more than forty-two
thousand pounds (42,000 1bs.): five hundred and fifty-four dollars ($554);

(xxiii) More than forty-two thousand pounds (42,000 Ibs.), but not more than forty-six
thousand pounds (46,000 Ibs.): six hundred and eight dollars ($608);

(xxiv) More than forty-six thousand pounds (46,000 Ibs.), but not more than fifty
thousand pounds (50,000 Ibs.): six hundred and sixty dollars ($660);

(xxv) More than fifty thousand pounds (50,000 Ibs.), but not more than fifty-four
thousand pounds (54,000 Ibs.): seven hundred and twelve dollars ($712);

(xxvi) More than fifty-four thousand pounds (54,000 lbs.), but not more than fifty-eight
thousand pounds (58,000 1bs.): seven hundred and sixty-eight dollars ($768);

(xxvii) More than fifty-eight thousand pounds (58,000 Ibs.), but not more than sixty-two
thousand pounds (62,000 Ibs.): eight hundred and sixteen dollars ($816);

(xxviii) More than sixty-two thousand pounds (62,000 Ibs.), but not more than sixty-six
thousand pounds (66,000 1bs.): eight hundred and seventy-six dollars ($876);

(xxix) More than sixty-six thousand pounds (66,000 1bs.), but not more than seventy
thousand pounds (70,000 Ibs.): nine hundred and twenty-four dollars ($924);

(xxx) More than seventy thousand pounds (70,000 1bs.), but not more than seventy-four
thousand pounds (74,000 1bs.): nine hundred and seventy-two dollars ($972);

(xxxi) Over seventy-four thousand pounds (74,000 Ibs.): nine hundred and seventy-two
dollars ($972), plus twenty-four dollars ($24) per two thousand pounds (2,000 Ibs.) gross weight.

(4) For the registration of every semi-trailer to be used with a truck-tractor as defined in §
31-1-4(a) shall be as follows annual fee of twelve dollars ($12) for a one year registration, for
multi-year registrations the fee of fifty dollars ($50) for a five (5) year registration and eighty

dollars ($80) for an eight (8) year registration. However, when in use the weight of the resulting



semi-trailer unit and its maximum carrying capacity shall not exceed the gross weight of the
original semi-trailer unit from which the gross weight of the tractor was determined. A
registration certificate and registration plate shall be issued for each semi-trailer so registered.
There shall be no refund of payment of such fee, except that when a plate is returned prior to
ninety (90) days before the effective date of that year's registration, the pro rate amount, based on
the unused portion of the multi-year registration plate period at time of surrender, shall be
refunded. A multi-year semi-trailer registration may be transferred to another semi-trailer subject
to the provisions and fee set forth in § 31-6-11. Thirty percent (30%) of the semi-trailer
registration fee shall be retained by the division of motor vehicles to defray the costs of
implementation of the international registration plan (IRP) and fleet registration section.

(5) For the registration of every automobile, motor truck, or tractor, when equipped with
other than pneumatic tires, there shall be added to the above gross weight fees a charge of ten
cents (10¢) for each one hundred (100) pounds of gross weight.

(6) For the registration of every public bus, the rates provided for motor vehicles for hire
plus two dollars ($2) for each passenger which that bus is rated to carry, the rating to be
determined by the administrator of the division of motor vehicles.

(7) For the registration of every motorcycle, or motor-driven cycle, thirteen dollars ($13).
Three dollars ($3) from that sum shall be turned over to the department of education to assist in
the payment of the cost of the motorcycle driver's education program as enumerated in § 31-10.1-
I.1.

(8) For the registration of every trailer not including semi-trailers used with a truck-
tractor as defined in § 31-1-4(a), with a gross weight of three thousand pounds (3,000 Ibs.) or
less, five dollars ($5). Trailers with a gross weight of more than three thousand pounds (3,000
1bs.) shall be assessed a registration fee of one dollar and fifty cents ($1.50) per thousand pounds

(1,000 Ibs.).



(9) The annual registration fee for a motor vehicle, commonly described as a boxcar
and/or locomotive, and used only by la societe des 40 hommes et 8 chevaux for civic
demonstration, parades, convention purposes or social welfare work, shall be two dollars ($2).

(10) For the registration of every motor vehicle, trailer, or semi-trailer owned by any
department or agency of any city or town or district, provided the name of the city or town or
district or state department or agency owning the same shall be plainly printed on two (2) sides of
the vehicle, two dollars ($2).

(11) For the registration of motor vehicles used for racing, fifteen dollars ($15).

(12) For every duplicate registration certificate, seventeen dollars ($17).

(13) For every certified copy of a registration certificate or application, ten dollars ($10).

(14) For every certificate assigning a special identification number or mark as provided in
§ 31-3-37, one dollar ($1).

(15) For every replacement of number plates or additional pair of number plates, without
changing the number, thirty dollars ($30).

(16) For the registration of every farm vehicle, used in farming as provided in § 31-3-31,
ten dollars ($10).

(17) For the registration of antique motor vehicles, five dollars ($5).

(18) For the registration of a suburban vehicle, when used as a pleasure vehicle and the
gross weight of which is not more than four thousand pounds (4,000 lbs.), the same rates as
charged in subdivision (1) of this subsection shall be applicable and when used as a commercial
vehicle and the gross weight of which is not more than four thousand pounds (4,000 Ibs.), the
same rates as provided in subdivision (2) of this subsection shall be applicable. The rates in
subdivision (3) of this subsection shall be applicable when the suburban vehicle has a gross
weight of more than four thousand pounds (4,000 Ibs.), regardless of the use of the vehicle.

(19) For the registration of every motor bus which is used exclusively under contract with

a political subdivision or school district of the state for the transportation of school children, three



delars—($3) twenty-five dollars ($25) provided that the motor bus may also be used for the

transportation of persons to and from church and Sunday school services, and for the
transportation of children to and from educational or recreational projects sponsored by a city or
town or by any association or organization supported wholly or in part by public or private
donations for charitable purposes, without the payment of additional registration fee.

(20) For the registration of every motorized bicycle, ten dollars ($10).

(21) For the registration of every motorized tricycle, ten dollars ($10).

(22) For the replacement of number plates with a number change, twenty dollars ($20).

(23) For the initial issuance and each reissuance of fully reflective plates as required by
§§ 31-3-10 and 31-3-32, an additional six dollars ($6).

(24) For the issuance of a trip permit under the International Registration Plan, twenty-
five dollars ($25) per vehicle. The division of motor vehicles is authorized to issue seventy-two
(72) hour trip permits for vehicles required to be registered in the International Registration Plan
that have not been apportioned with the state of Rhode Island.

(25) For the issuance of a hunter's permit under the International Registration Plan,
twenty-five dollars ($25) per vehicle. The division of motor vehicles is authorized to issue
hunter's permits for motor vehicles based in the state of Rhode Island and otherwise required to
be registered in the International Registration Plan. These permits are valid for thirty (30) days.

(26) For the registration of a specially adapted motor vehicle necessary to transport a
family member with a disability for personal, noncommercial use, a fee of thirty dollars ($30)
assessed.

(b) In the event that the registrant voluntarily cancels his registration within the period of
registration, the division of motor vehicles shall refund only that portion of the fee paid which
represents full-year segments of the registration fee paid.

SECTION 7. Sections 31-10-22 and 31-10-31 of the General Laws in Chapter 31-10

entitled “Operators’ and Chauffeurs’ Licenses” are hereby amended to read as follows:



§ 31-10-22 Road test. — All applicants for a motor vehicle license shall pass a motor

vehicle road test as prescribed by the administrator of the division of motor vehicles in a motor
vehicle supplied by the applicant or in a dual controlled motor vehicle supplied by the state. In the
case of the examination for a chauffeur to operate a truck, tractor, trailer, tractor semi-trailer, bus,
or other vehicle for hire or a person who will operate only a vehicle equipped with automatic shift
or a person who is disabled and requires the use of a specially equipped motor vehicle, those
persons shall be examined in vehicles furnished by them. At the option of any person who is
disabled, the road test shall be administered by the local office of the division of motor vehicles

nearest that person's home. A fee of twenty five dollars ($25) shall be charged for all road tests,

including repeat road tests, following failure of a road test.

§ 31-10-31 Fees. — The following fees shall be paid to the division of motor vehicles:

(1) For every operator's first license to operate a motor vehicle, twenty-five dollars ($25);

(2) For every chauffeur's first license, twenty-five dollars ($25); provided, that when a
Rhode Island licensed operator transfers to a chauffeur's license, the fee for the transfer shall be
two dollars ($2);

(3) For every learner's permit to operate a motorcycle, twenty-five dollars ($25);

(4) For every operator's first license to operate a motorcycle, twenty-five dollars ($25);

(5) For every renewal of an operator's or chauffeur's license, thirty dollars ($30); with the
exception of any person seventy-five (75) years of age or older for whom the renewal fee will be
eight dollars ($3);

(6) For every duplicate operator's or chauffeur's license, twenty-five dollars ($25);

68)(7) For every certified copy of any license, permit, or application issued under this

chapter, ten dollars ($10);

9(8) For every duplicate instruction permit, ten dollars ($10);



E0)(9) For every first license examination, five dollars ($5);

&H(10) For every routine information update, i.e., name change or address change, five
dollars ($5).

é2)(11) For surrender of an out-of-state license, in addition to the above fees, five dollars
($5).

SECTION 8. Section 31-24-31 of the General Laws in Chapter 31-24 entitled “Lighting
Equipment and Reflectors™ is hereby amended to read as follows:

§ 31-24-31 Flashing lights — Forward viewing or rotary beam lights. — (a) Flashing

lights are prohibited, except on an authorized emergency vehicle, school bus, snow removal
equipment, or on any vehicle as a means for indicating a right or left turn. However, the
requirements of § 31-24-33 shall be deemed to be satisfied if the vehicle is equipped with lamps
at the front mounted at the same level, displaying simultaneously flashing white or amber lights,
and at the rear mounted at the same level, and displaying simultaneously flashing red lights, all of
which lights shall be visible from a distance of not less than five hundred feet (500").

(b) Forward viewing or rotating beam lights may be installed on and shall be restricted to
the following categories of vehicles, and these lights shall be of color designated:

(1) Emergency response vehicles of any fire, rescue, or ambulance department, fire
chiefs, assistant fire chiefs, deputy chiefs, captains; any privately owned vehicle of any authorized
volunteer member of a fire, rescue, or ambulance department; emergency management agency
directors, assistant directors, assistant medical examiners and/or forensic pathologists of the
office of state medical examiners; rescue vehicles, emergency response vehicles of the
department of environmental management and the division of state fire marshal; school buses;
hospital emergency response vehicles; and two (2) American Red Cross disaster vehicles: Red,
white and/or alternating flashing white;

(2) Wrecker trucks, service station trucks, state and town safety and maintenance

vehicles; snowplows and tractors; light company trucks, telephone company trucks, water



company trucks, oil company trucks, and other utilities' trucks; vehicles of television, radio and
press photographers; rural mail carriers; all motor-propelled vehicles owned by the Northern
Rhode Island REACT (radio emergency associated citizens team); all motor-propelled vehicles
owned by or under contract to the Rhode Island department of transportation when on official
state business; and vehicles marking the beginning and end of funeral processions: Amber,
provided, however, that wrecker and transportation vehicles operated pursuant to a public utilities
commission license, and roadside assistance vehicles of any type operated for that purpose by the
American Automobile Association shall be permitted to use flashing amber lights at the front and
rear of the vehicle, to be activated only in the course of providing assistance to or transportation

for a disabled vehicle. A fee of twenty-five dollars ($25) shall be charged for the issuance of a

flashing lights permit to every vehicle identified in this subsection, with the exception of flashing

lights permits issued to state and town safety and maintenance vehicles, which shall not be

charged a fee.

(3) Police units, state and local: Center rotating beam lights: Blue or red; Outboard
mounted lights: Blue or red.
(4) Violations of this section are subject to fines enumerated in § 31-41.1-4.

SECTION 9. This article shall take effect as of July 1, 2010.



