

March 1, 2021

The Honorable Joseph J. Solomon Chair, House Committee on Corporations Rhode Island State House 82 Smith Street Providence, RI 02903

Re: SUPPORT for Community Solar Legislation - House Bill No. 5327 by Potter, Baginski, Felix, Batista, Ruggiero, Speakman, Knight, Kislak, Shallcross Smith, Fogarty

Dear Chairman Solomon:

Please consider this written testimony in support of expanding the existing Community Solar legislation in Rhode Island.

Nautilus Solar Energy, LLC ("NSE") is a leading owner and operator of solar projects in Rhode Island with ~25 MWac currently under operation in the state's Community Remote Net Metering ("CRNM") Pilot program. These CRNM projects provide approximately 6,500 Rhode Islanders with valuable savings on their electric bills, which is especially helpful during these difficult economic times.

The primary purpose of community solar, which was passed into law in 2016 by the General Assembly, is to allow members of a community the opportunity to share the benefits of solar power (primarily through direct savings on their electricity bills and allowing for the powering their households by clean energy) even if they cannot install solar panels directly on to their property. As Rhode Island continues to vigorously pursue its clean energy goals beyond 2020, we believe that expanding this legislation is a critical step to allow all Rhode Islanders to be a part of a clean energy future. The expansion of the CRNM program will also create additional jobs and benefits for local communities.

Thank you in advance for considering this important proposal and please do not hesitate to reach out if we can provide any additional information to your committee.

Sincerely Yours,

Nautilus Solar Energy, LLC

By: Cheng

By: Cheng

Name: Jeffrey Cheng

Title: President



cc: Representative William W. O'Brien, First Vice Chair

Representative Justine A. Caldwell, Second Vice Chair

Representative Stephen M. Casey

Representative Michael W. Chippendale

Representative Barbara Ann Fenton-Fung Member

Representative Bernard A. Hawkins Member

Representative Katherine S. Kazarian

Representative Brian Patrick Kennedy

Representative Charlene Lima

Representative Steven J. Lima

Representative Robert D. Phillips

Representative Brandon C. Potter

Representative Patricia A. Serpa

Representative Mary Ann Shallcross Smith