

Matthew T. Jerzyk, Esq. mjerzyk@wafarrell.com (401) 556-7412

March 2, 2021

The Honorable Joseph J. Solomon Chair, House Committee on Corporations Rhode Island State House 82 Smith Street Providence, RI 02903

> Re: SUPPORT for Community Solar Legislation - House Bill No. 5327 by Potter, Baginski, Felix, Batista, Ruggiero, Speakman, Knight, Kislak, Shallcross Smith, Fogarty

To Chairman Solomon:

Our firm represents TurningPoint Energy and, for the last three years, have advocated for a legislative remedy to expand the Community Solar pilot program in a measured and responsible way.

This legislation will start to bring Rhode Island more into alignment with our neighbors' community solar programs as each state seeks to end its reliance on fossil fuels and to meet our renewable energy goals by 2030.

- Rhode Island 30MW (goes to 90MW with this legislation)
- Massachusetts 1,500MW
- Connecticut 175MW
- New York 2,000MW
- Maine Unlimited

In addition, I wanted to submit the enclosed article from EcoRI that was recently written by Jo Detz on February 14, 2021 entitled, "Low-Income Renters Left Out in the Cold When it Comes to Green Energy, Efficiency Upgrades." Here is an excerpt highlighting the important role of Community Solar in helping low-income renters:

While there is a lack of energy-efficient low-income housing in Rhode Island, there are some private developers and real-estate firms that are making strides to both help their tenants save money while increasing the value of their holdings... Community solar can save customers 8-12 percent per electric bill, and, according to Blodgett, can reduce the carbon footprint of holdings by an average of 30 percent.

Thank you in advance for considering this important legislation and please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any questions.

Very Truly Yours,

Matthew T. Jerzyk, Esq.

Legal Counsel

Enclosure

cc: Representative William W. O'Brien, First Vice Chair

Representative Justine A. Caldwell, Second Vice Chair

Representative Stephen M. Casey

Representative Michael W. Chippendale

Representative Barbara Ann Fenton-Fung Member

Representative Bernard A. Hawkins Member

Representative Katherine S. Kazarian

Representative Brian Patrick Kennedy

Representative Charlene Lima

Representative Steven J. Lima

Representative Robert D. Phillips

Representative Brandon C. Potter

Representative Patricia A. Serpa

Representative Mary Ann Shallcross Smith